clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

College Football Awards: Patrick Peterson Nabs The Bednarik

Next up in the awards parade: The 2010 Chuck Bednarik Award, bestowed by the Maxwell Football Club on the nation's top defensive player in college football. This year's honoree is LSU's Patrick Peterson, who's already graced the stage once this evening as the recipient of this year's Jim Thorpe Award.

Along with Georgia's David Pollack, who's presenting tonight's award, Peterson is the only SEC defender to receive this honor. He's also the first defensive back to be honored since Michigan's Charles Woodson. In addition to being a fine cornerback that quarterbacks everywhere strive to throw away from whenever humanly possible, Peterson is the nation's seventh-ranked kickoff returner, and the highest-ranked defender at the position. As an actual defender, he's recorded seven interceptions in 2010. You'll be able to see him on the field one more time this season, playing Texas A&M in the Cotton Bowl.

For more on Patrick Peterson and for all your LSU Tigers needs, visit SB Nation's And The Valley Shook.