clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

2011 Sugar Bowl Game: TV Time, Location, History And More

As bowl season begins to wind down, we continue our look at each and every bowl to prepare make you, dear reader, the most knowledgeable college football fan in the land. Up next: The 2011 Sugar Bowl on Jan. 4.

Proper name: The Allstate Sugar Bowl. Allstate has been the sponsor of the Sugar Bowl since 2007

Setting: The Superdome in New Orleans. There is nothing -- and I mean nothing -- like a bowl game in New Orleans.

Traditional conference pairing: SEC versus BCS at-large.

2010 matchup: The No. 6 Ohio State Buckeyes (11-1) versus the No. 8 Arkansas Razorbacks (10-2).

Announcers: Brad Nessler, Todd Blackledge and Holly Rowe hook up for ESPN on the call this year. Coverage starts at 8 p.m. ET, with kick-off coming shortly after 8:30.

Weather: A cool 72 degrees with not a raindrop in sight. It's a dome, of course. Outside we're looking at cloudy with a high of 62 and a low of 53.

Neatest fact: The Sugar Bowl was born out of envy. The West Coast had the Rose Bowl, Florida had the Orange Bowl and New Orleans had nothing. A one-man crusade ended all that and gave us some delicious, bourbon-aided football.

Closest finish: In 1936, the Sugar Bowl ended when the TCU Horned Frogs defeated the LSU Tigers, 3-2. Six years later, Fordham defeated Missouri, 2-0.

Most lopsided finish: In 1950, Oklahoma pitched a shutout in a 35-0 win over LSU.

Tidbits of interest: Arkansas has appeared in the Sugar Bowl five times, winning only once. Ohio State hasn't fared much better, winning only one of their three appearances in the bowl. Notable MVPs: Tim Tebow, JaMarcus Russell, Dan Marino and Herschel Walker. Todd Blackledge, who's manning the booth, was the Sugar Bowl MVP in 1983.

The 2011 Sugar Bowl kicks off at 8:30 p.m. EST, Tuesday, January 4. The game will be televised on ESPN. For a complete list of bowls, browse our 2010 college football postseason schedule