clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2011 Broyles Award Finalists: Three Coaches From The SEC Among Finalists

The 2011 finalists for the Broyles Award have been announced, included in the finalists are three coaches from the SEC.

The 2011 Broyles Award finalists have been released. The Broyles Award is given out annually to the nation's top assistant coach in college football.

The Broyles Award was founded in 1996 to award hard working assistant coaches, like the ones who worked under the award's name sake, former Arkansas Razorbacks head coach Frank Broyles. The finalists are chosen from a panal of 10 voters, who include the likes of former Florida State Head coach Bobby Bowden, former Georgia coach Vince Dooley, and former Iowa coach Hayden Fry.

The 2010 Broyles Award went to Auburn University offensive coordinator Gus Malzahn. Malzahn engineered one of the most exciting offenses to watch during the 2010 NCAA season and his team went on to win the BCS National Title. 

  • John Chavis, Louisiana State University, Defensive Coordinator
  • Paul Chryst, University of Wisconsin, Offensive Coordinator/Quarterbacks
  • Greg Mattison, Michigan, Defensive Coordinator
  • Garrick McGee, University of Arkansas, Offensive Coordinator/QBs
  • Sal Sunseri, Alabama, Assistant Head Coach/Linebackers

The Broyles Award has been given to an assistant coach in the SEC the past two seasons, with Alabama defensive coordinator Kirby Smart winning the award in 2009. In the 2011 finalists, the SEC sees three assistant coaches in the mix for the award.

The 2011 Broyles Award winner will be announced on Tuesday, December 6 at 11:30 a.m. at the Peabody Hotel in Little Rock, AR.