clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Les Miles Voted AP's Coach Of The Year

LSU Tigers coach Les Miles has been voted the AP Coach of the Year.

With one game standing between him and a second BCS National Title, LSU Tigers' head coach Les Miles has been voted The Associated Press Coach of the Year.

Miles received 30 of the 56 votes cast while Kansas St. Wildcats coach Bill Snyder received 16, Oklahoma St. Cowboys coach Mike Gundy garnered six, Brady Hoke of the Michigan Wolverines received three and USC Trojans head man Lane Kiffin received the final one.

LSU overcame multiple issues on and off the field that almost derailed their SEC Champion season.An early season suspensions for starting quarterback Jordan Jefferson and receiver Russell Shepard as well as midseason suspensions of three players, including Heisman candidate Tyrann Mathieu, could have easily led to a Tiger loss.

This is Miles’ first Coach of the Year award, making him the second LSU coach to win the award. The other was Nick Saban, who won the award in 2003 and will line up against Miles for the Alabama Crimson Tide in the BCS National Title game.

For more on Miles and the LSU Tigers, visit SB Nation blog And The Valley Shook.