clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

2011 Liberty Bowl Final Score: Cincinnati Holds Off Vanderbilt For 31-24 Win

The 2011 Liberty Bowl provided most of the points and excitement on the final day of the 2011 college football season that is actually part of 2011, and it gave the Cincinnati Bearcats the penultimate college football victory of 2011, in a 31-24 triumph over Vanderbilt.

Cincinnati's 17 fourth quarter points propelled them, and both their offense and special teams produced them: Ralph Abernathy's 91-yard kickoff return touchdown made Vandy's 21-17 lead, itself produced by a big 68-yard touchdown catch from Chris Boyd, very short-lived, and Isaiah Pead's 12-yard touchdown run with less than two minutes on the clock sealed the Bearcats' win. Pead ran for 150 yards and a touchdown, propping up Cincinnati's offense, which got just 79 passing yards and a touchdown from Zach Collaros, who also threw two interceptions.

Vanderbilt's passing game was worse, however: Jordan Rodgers completed just four of 14 passes, and Larry Smith, who came in for him, completed eight of his 19 attempts for 142 yards, one touchdown, and an interception. Commodores runners combined for 127 yards and two touchdowns, with Zac Stacy and Jerron Seymour both getting to paydirt.

For more on the Cincinnati Bearcats, visit Down The Drive. For Vanderbilt Commodores news and updates, check out Anchor Of Gold.