clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2011 College Football Awards Show TV Schedule, Nominees List

Stay tuned here for notes on each of the winners of 2011's college football awards, which will be announced on a show airing 9 p.m. ET Thursday night on ESPN. As with bowl game pairings, sometimes these sorts of things make themselves known before they're announced on TV. 

All 11 awards are rendered completely worthless by the Ray Guy Award's omission of LSU Tigers punter Brad Wing, but this is the sort of very important thing that will get us one day closer to bowl season, so let's all try to get through it.

Rule of thumb: it's just like watching the Grammys. If a rap album is nominated for Album of the Year, it's probably gonna win Rap Album of the Year.

The list of nominees for each award:

Chuck Bednarik Award
College Defensive Player of the Year 
Matt Millen
Penn State, ESPN College Football Analyst
Dont'a Hightower, Alabama
Tyrann Mathieu. LSU  
Devon Still, Penn State
Biletnikoff Award
Nation's Most Outstanding Receiver
Fred Biletnikoff
Florida State,
Pro Football Hall of Fame
Justin Blackmon, Oklahoma State
Ryan Broyles, Oklahoma
Robert Woods, USC
Lou Groza Collegiate Place-Kicker Award
Nation's Most Outstanding Placekicker 
Judd Groza
Ohio State,
Son of Lou Groza
Randy Bullock, Texas A&M 
Dustin Hopkins, Florida State  
Caleb Sturgis, Florida                  
Ray Guy Award
Nation's Most Outstanding Punter
Ray Guy
Southern Mississippi
Three-time Super Bowl Champion
Ryan Allen, Louisiana Tech
Steven Clark, Auburn
Jackson Rice, Oregon
Maxwell Award
College Player of the Year
Herschel Walker
1982 winner,
Andrew Luck, Stanford
Kellen Moore, Boise State
Trent Richardson, Alabama
Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award
Nation's Best Quarterback
Jim McMahon
1981 winner,
Robert Griffin III, Baylor
Case Keenum, Houston
Andrew Luck, Stanford
Outland Trophy
Nation's Most Outstanding
Interior Lineman
Mark May
1980 winner,
David DeCastro, Stanford
Barrett Jones, Alabama
Devon Still, Penn State
Jim Thorpe Award
Nation's Most Outstanding
Defensive Back
Governor Bill Anoatubby
Tribal leader of the Chickasaw Nation
David Amerson, NC State
Mark Barron, Alabama
Morris Claiborne, LSU
Doak Walker Award
Nation's Most Outstanding
Running Back
Calvin Hill
Recipient of the 2008 Doak Walker Legends Award, Yale
Montee Ball, Wisconsin
LaMichael James, Oregon
Trent Richardson, Alabama
The Home Depot Coach of the Year
Nation's Most Outstanding
Head Coach 
Suzy Deering
VP, Integrated Media
The Home Depot
Walter Camp All-America Team Lincoln Kennedy
1992 All-America Team, Washington

SB Nation's 2011 college football awards stream will have the winners of each college football award, because it's a college football awards stream.