clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Biletnikoff Award 2011 Winner: Oklahoma State's Justin Blackmon

The winner of the 2011 Fred Biletnikoff Award is Oklahoma State's Justin Blackmon. After an incredible sophomore season including 111 receptions and 20 receiving touchdowns, Oklahoma State's Justin Blackmon outdid himself in 2011 bringing in a Big-12 leading 113 receptions and 15 receiving touchdowns.

Blackmon was up against some stiff competition with senior Ryan Broyles returning for his senior season after a 2010 season that included 131 receptions, 1622 receiving yards, and 14 receiving touchdowns. Broyles was on pace to put up similar numbers before he injured his knee in a Nov. 5 game against Texas A&M. Despite only playing in nine games, the 5’10" receiver still managed to catch 83 balls for 1,157 receiving yards in ten touchdowns. He is still fourth in the nation in receiving yards per game with 128.6 ypg.

Sophomore Robert Woods started out the 2011 season with a bang in USC’s 19-17 victory vs. Minnesota. He recorded 17 receptions for 177 yards and three receiving touchdowns. Woods finished with a Pac-12 leading 111 receptions and 15 touchdowns. Woods is the first USC wide receiver to be named a Biletnikoff finalist since Dwayne Jarrett was in 2005.

SB Nation's 2011 college football awards stream will have the winners of each college football award, because it's a college football awards stream.