clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Chuck Bednarik Award 2011 Winner: LSU's Tyrann Mathieu

The winner of the 2011 Chuck Bednarik Award is LSU's Tyrann Mathieu, affectionately known as the "Honey Badger" by many. LSU Tigers' Tyrann Mathieu leads one of the best defenses in the nation with 70 tackles and has forced six fumbles while recovering five. He also has a pair of interceptions. He just seemed to have a knack for the football no matter what position he played.

In 2010, the Bednarik went to Mathieu's former teammate Patrick Peterson of LSU. Peterson now suits up for the Arizona Cardinals. The Bednarik award is given every year to the nation's top defensive player. LSU is tied for the second most Bednarik awards by a school, with Penn State leading the way having a player selected four times for the prestegious award.

SB Nation's 2011 college football awards stream will have the winners of each college football award, because it's a college football awards stream.