clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Walter Camp Award 2011 Winner: Andrew Luck Is Player Of The Year

Stanford quarterback Andrew Luck was named the Walter Camp Player of the Year Award winner Thursday.

Luck is the first Stanford quarterback since Jim Plunkett in 1970 to receive the award. He is also the eighth Pac-12 player to earn top billing.

He beat out Baylor quarterback Robert Griffin III, Houston quarterback Case Keenum, Alabama running back Trent Richardson and LSU defensive back Tyrann Mathieu.

Luck, who is a finalist for tonight's Davey O'Brien and Maxwell Awards, led the Pac-12 and ranked fifth nationally with a 167.50 pass efficiency rating. He threw for Stanford single-season record 35 touchdowns, had nine interceptions and completed 70 percent of his passes.

As if he hasn't already won enough, Luck was also named CoSIDA's Academic All-American of the Year for Football, carrying a 3.48 GPA as an architectural design major.

SB Nation's 2011 college football awards stream will have the winners of each college football award, because it's a college football awards stream.