clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2011 College Football Awards: Wrapping Up The Winners

The 2011 college football awards ceremony was tonight, with the winners being presented with their respective awards. Here's a run down of who won what award:

Davey O'Brien Award (best quarterback):

WINNER: Robert Griffin III, Baylor

Griffin wins the award for the nation's best quarterback in a bit of a surprise. Griffin is believed to have made a late surge for the Heisman Trophy and winning the nation's best quarterback is a good sign of that.

Maxwell Award Winner (most outstanding player):

WINNER: Andrew Luck, QB, Stanford

Luck took the award over Kellen Moore and Trent Richardson. It was his second award of the night.

Chuck Bednarik Award (best defensive player):

WINNER: Tyrann Mathieu, DB, LSU

While Mathieu plays a variety of positions on the LSU defense, he simply has a nose for the football and big plays.

Biletnikoff Award (best wide receiver):

WINNER: Justin Blackmon, Oklahoma State

For the second year in a row, Oklahoma State's Justin Blackmon wins the award for the nation's best wide receiver. Earlier, it was reported that Blackmon will be heading to the NFL Draft in April, so he can't win it for a third time.

RAY GUY AWARD (best punter):

WINNER: Ryan Allen, Louisiana Tech

Allen finished the season averaging 46.3 yards per punt and had the most punts down inside the 20 and 10-yard line. Ryan Allen is the first player in Louisiana Tech history to win the Ray Guy Award. 

Lou Groza Award (best kicker):

WINNER: Randy Bullock, Texas A&M

Bullock made the most field goals (25) in college football this season. Randy Bullock is the first Texas A&M kicker to win the Lou Groza Award

Doak Walker Award (best running back):

WINNER: Trent Richardson, Alabama

Trent Richardson is the first running back in school history to win the Doak Walker Award, and no that isn't a typo. Mark Ingram won the Heisman Trophy two seasons ago, but did not win the Doak Walker Award.

Jim Thorpe Award (best defensive back):

WINNER: Morris Claiborne, LSU

For the second season in a row, an LSU defensive back wins the award for the best defensive back in the country.

Coach Of The Year:

WINNER: Les Miles, LSU

The Mad Hatter once again has his team in the National Title game and looking to go undefeated to win his second National Title.

SB Nation's 2011 college football awards stream will have the winners of each college football award, because it's a college football awards stream.