clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

College Football Hall Of Fame 2011 Class Announced, Includes Deion Sanders

The full 2011 class for the College Football Hall of Fame was announced Tuesday morning, and joining previously-leaked names like Eddie George and Lloyd Carr in South Bend will be a guy named Deion Sanders, who you may have heard used to play a little football back in the day.

The rest of the new crop, thick with defensive linemen this year, in alphabetical order:

Carlos Alvarez (WR, Florida)
Fisher DeBerry (HC, Air Force)
Doug English (DL, Texas)
Bill Enyart (FB, Oregon State)
Marty Lyons (DL, Alabama)
Russell Maryland (DL, Miami)
Jake Scott (DB, Georgia)
Will Shields (G, Nebraska)
Sandy Stephens (QB, Minnesota)
Darryl Talley (LB, West Virginia)
Clendon Thomas (HB, Oklahoma)
Rob Waldrop (DL, Arizona)
Gene Washington (WR, Michigan State)

And we can't mention the Hall without mentioning the "Enshrinement Festival" that comes with each new class, and apparently is not as gross as it sounds. Tickets are now available for the July affair celebrating the previous year's class. The new guys will be officially inducted this December in New York City.