clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2012 FCS Championship Final Score: North Dakota State Wins First D-I Title

The North Dakota State Bison have won their first-ever Division I championship, downing Sam Houston State, 17-6, in the 2012 FCS Championship. It's the ninth claimed national title in program history, with their most recent coming in the 1990 Division II playoffs.

NDSU's defense, which entered the day ranked No. 24, has now shut down two of the top four rushing offenses in the country in back-to-back games.

After pinning down Georgia Southern's triple option attack, against SHSU the Bison forced 20 incompletions in 32 attempts, held Tim Flanders to four yards per carry and forced two turnovers. The nation's top-scoring offense was limited to six points, I say again. Of course the game ended with a sack of Bearkats quarterback Brian Bell.

Non-defensive MVPs include punter Matt Voigtlander, who averaged 45 yards, put three inside the 20 and had a 27-yard run. D.J. McNorton contributed 75 total yards from scrimmage as well. Actually, while we're at it, let's hand the game ball to NDSU fans who traveled across the continent to cheer on their team in Texas.

Can't help but wonder about the future of this Bison program, which already outdraws a few FBS schools.

For more college football, stay tuned to SB Nation's college football news coverage. And visit our many college football blogs.