clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

SB Nation College Football Hall Of Fame DLs: Vote On Babin, Ngata, Pollack, Thomas

Your defensive line choices include a MAC player, a Duck and two proponents of ESS EEE SEE SPEED!

Getty Images

When fans talk about SEC speed, many are referring to the players along the lines, and the defensive line in particular. So maybe it's not a surprise that half of our nominees in this category come from the conference whose name has become synonymous with quickness. But it's not an all SEC affair -- the Oregon Ducks and even a MAC team both have entries in the category.

This poll will stay open all weekend, with the full list of winners revealed Monday morning.

Jason Babin, Western Michigan Broncos
Holds FBS record for most tackles for loss in a career and a season, with 75 and 32 respectively. Two-time MAC Defensive Player of the Year.

Haloti Ngata, Oregon Ducks
Named Pac-12 Defense Player of the Year in 2005. Had 151 tackles and seven blocked kicks despite leaving a year early for the NFL.

David Pollack, Georgia Bulldogs
Three-time All-American. Won the Bednarik, Lombardi and Lott awards in senior season. Has 36 career sacks. Once intercepted a pass while he and the ball fell to the ground as Pollack attempted to sack the quarterback.

Derrick Thomas, Alabama Crimson Tide
Terrorized SEC quarterbacks in the 1980s with 27 sacks in a single season. Collected 68 tackles for loss over his career.

Previously inducted DL: Dwight Freeney, Syracuse.

The SB Nation College Football Hall of Fame is a summer project involving all of the network's excellent college football blogs. Each community could nominate five of its own for inclusion, with 10 of those nominees being inducted by our selection committee, which included reps from most FBS conferences. The remaining 10 will be chosen by public vote Wednesday and Thursday.

Check out the SB Nation Channel on YouTube