clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

SB Nation College Football Hall Of Fame LBs: Vote On Fitzgerald, Johnson, Talley, Willis

There are plenty of Nagurski, Bednarik and Butkus awards among our nominees for linebacker.

Getty Images

They're the quarterbacks of the defense, so their impact on the team goes far beyond stats. But the stats are also pretty impressive for our nominees for the linebacking corps of the SB Nation College Football Hall of Fame. And we've got a pretty broad cross-section of the country here -- even if West Virginia is now technically a Big 12 team.

This poll will stay open all weekend, with the full list of winners revealed Monday morning.

Pat Fitzgerald, Northwestern Wildcats
Twice Bednarik and Nagurski winner. Two-time All-American. Had 299 career tackles. On a Northwestern team that went to the 1996 Rose Bowl.

Derrick Johnson, Texas Longhorns
Finished tops in Texas history with 69 tackles for loss. Twice a first-team All-American. Won 2004 Nagurski and Butkus awards.

Darryl Talley, West Virginia Mountaineers
Holds West Virginia records in total tackles (484) and unassisted tackles (282). Had 15 tackles in a single game against Boston College.

Patrick Willis, Mississippi Rebels
Led the SEC in tackles during junior and senior years. Had 345 tackles in his career. Butkus Award winner.

Previously inducted LB: Mike Singletary, Baylor.

The SB Nation College Football Hall of Fame is a summer project involving all of the network's excellent college football blogs. Each community could nominate five of its own for inclusion, with 10 of those nominees being inducted by our selection committee, which included reps from most FBS conferences. The remaining 10 will be chosen by public vote Wednesday and Thursday.

Check out the SB Nation Channel on YouTube