clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

College Football Awards 2012: National Watch Lists Now Being Released

College football award watch list season means actual football can't be far away, y'all. Two lists have already been revealed, while the rest will be coming out over the next two weeks. The Heisman folks will also reveal their early watch list at some point.

Monday, the Maxwell (for the nation's best player) and Bednarik (for the best defensive player) came out. Here are each of those:


  • CB Johnny Adams, Michigan State
  • LB Denicos Allen, Michigan State
  • CB Ricardo Allen, Purdue
  • CB David Amerson, N.C. State
  • CB Ray-Ray Armstrong, Miami
  • LB Dion Bailey, USC
  • CB Jonathan Banks, Mississippi State
  • LB Chris Borland, Wisconsin
  • S John Boyett, Oregon
  • LB Jonathan Brown, Illinois
  • LB Arthur Brown, Kansas State
  • CB Brodrick Brown, Oklahoma State
  • CB Michael Buchanan, Illinois
  • LB Max Bullough, Michigan State
  • DE Jadeveon Clowney, South Carolina
  • DE Jamie Collins, Southern Miss
  • DT Aaron Donald, Pittsburgh
  • DT Sharrif Floyd, Florida
  • CB Kyle Fuller, Virginia Tech
  • DE James Gayle, Virginia Tech
  • DE William Gholston, Michigan State
  • LB Khaseem Greene, Rutgers
  • DT Johnathan Hankins, Ohio State
  • LB Gerald Hodges, Penn State
  • CB Demontre Hurst, Oklahoma
  • CB Micah Hyde, Iowa
  • DE Jackson Jeffcoat, Texas
  • S Tony Jefferson, Oklahoma
  • DE Brandon Jenkins, Florida State
  • DT Jonathan Jenkins, Georgia
  • LB Nico Johnson, Alabama
  • LB Jarvis Jones, Georgia
  • DE Dion Jordan, Oregon
  • S Lamarcus Joyner, Florida State
  • LB A.J. Klein, Iowa State
  • LB Jake Knott, Iowa State
  • CB Robert Lester, Alabama
  • DT Star Lotulelei, Utah
  • CB Nigel Malone, Kansas State
  • DE Stansly Maponga, TCU
  • CB Tyrann Mathieu, LSU
  • S T.J. McDonald, USC
  • DE Barkevious Mingo, LSU
  • DE Sam Montgomery, LSU
  • LB James Morris, Iowa
  • LB C.J. Mosley, Alabama
  • DE Alex Okafor, Texas
  • LB Sean Porter, Texas A&M
  • CB Jordan Poyer, Oregon State
  • LB Kevin Reddick, North Carolina
  • S Eric Reid, LSU
  • CB Xavier Rhodes, Florida State
  • CB Nickell Robey, USC
  • CB Logan Ryan, Rutgers
  • DT Kawann Short, Purdue
  • DE John Simon, Ohio State
  • LB Shayne Skov, Stanford
  • DE Devin Taylor, South Carolina
  • LB Bruce Taylor, Virginia Tech
  • LB Manti Te'o, Notre Dame
  • LB Chase Thomas, Stanford
  • S Kenny Vaccaro, Texas
  • DT Joe Vellano, Maryland
  • DT Jesse Williams, Alabama
  • DE Trevardo Williams, Connecticut


  • WR Keenan Allen, California
  • WR Tavon Austin, West Virginia
  • RB Montee Ball, Wisconsin
  • QB Matt Barkley, USC
  • RB Kenjon Barner, Oregon
  • RB Le'Veon Bell, Michigan State
  • RB Giovani Bernard, North Carolina
  • QB Tajh Boyd, Clemson
  • QB Tyler Bray, Tennessee
  • QB Teddy Bridgewater, Louisvile
  • RB Malcolm Brown, Texas
  • RB Rex Burkhead, Nebraska
  • QB Derek Carr, Fresno State
  • RB Knile Davis, Arkansas
  • QB Seth Doege, Texas Tech
  • TE Tyler Eifert, Notre Dame
  • RB Andre Ellington, Clemson
  • QB James Franklin, Missouri
  • RB Johnathan Franklin, UCLA
  • QB Mike Glennon, N.C. State
  • RB Ray Graham, Pittsburgh
  • WR Cobi Hamilton, Arkansas
  • QB Landry Jones, Oklahoma
  • QB Collin Klein, Kansas State
  • RB Eddie Lacy, Alabama
  • RB Marcus Lattimore, South Carolina
  • WR Marqise Lee, USC
  • RB Zach Line, SMU
  • QB EJ Manuel, Florida State
  • RB Cameron Marshall, Arizona State
  • RB Onterio McCalebb, Auburn
  • QB AJ McCarron, Alabama
  • RB Lyle McCombs, Connecticut
  • RB Curtis McNeal, USC
  • RB Christine Michael, Texas A&M
  • QB Braxton Miller, Ohio State
  • QB Aaron Murray, Georgia
  • QB Riley Nelson, BYU
  • RB Branden Oliver, Buffalo
  • QB Casey Pachall, TCU
  • QB Keith Price, Washington
  • RB Joseph Randle, Oklahoma State
  • RB Silas Redd, Penn State
  • QB Bryn Renner, North Carolina
  • QB Denard Robinson, Michigan
  • WR Da'Rick Rogers, Tennessee
  • RB Robbie Rouse, Fresno State
  • RB Charles Sims, Houston
  • QB Geno Smith, West Virginia
  • RB Isi Sofele, California
  • RB Zac Stacy, Vanderbilt
  • WR Kenny Stills, Oklahoma
  • RB Stepfan Taylor, Stanford
  • WR De'Anthony Thomas, Oregon
  • QB Logan Thomas, Virginia Tech
  • RB Fitzgerald Toussaint, Michigan
  • QB James Vandenberg, Iowa
  • WR Sammy Watkins, Clemson
  • RB Dominique Whaley, Oklahoma
  • RB John White IV, Utah
  • WR Terrance Williams, Baylor
  • WR Marquess Wilson, Washington State
  • QB Tyler Wilson, Arkansas
  • RB Cierre Wood, Notre Dame
  • WR Robert Woods, USC

For the time being, here we have pretty much the biggest news in the sport, believe it or not -- the schedule of when each of these things comes out:

Tues., July 10
· Mackey Award (Presented to the nation's most outstanding tight end by the Nassau Co. Sports Commission)· Rimington Trophy (Presented to the nation's premier center by the Boomer Esiason Foundation)
Wed., July 11
· Lou Groza Award (Presented to the nation's top place-kicker by the Palm Beach County Sports Commission)
· Ray Guy Award (Presented to the nation's best punter by the Augusta [Ga.] Sports Council)
Thurs., July 12
· Bronko Nagurski Trophy (Presented to the nation's most outstanding defensive player by the Charlotte Touchdown Club)
· Outland Trophy (Presented to the nation's most outstanding interior lineman by the FWAA)
Fri., July 13
· Jim Thorpe Award (Presented to the nation's best defensive back by the Jim Thorpe Association)
Mon., July 16
· Butkus Award (Presented to the nation's most outstanding linebacker by the Butkus Foundation)· Rotary Lombardi Award (Presented to the college lineman of the year by the Rotary Club of Houston)
Tues., July 17
· Biletnikoff Award (Presented to the nation's most outstanding receiver by the Tallahassee Quarterback Club Foundation)
Weds., July 18
· Davey O'Brien Award (Presented to the nation's best quarterback by the Davey O'Brien Foundation)
Thurs., July 19
· Doak Walker Award (Presented to the nation's premier running back by the PwC SMU Athletic Forum).
Fri., July 20
· Walter Camp Award (Presented to the nation's most outstanding player by the Walter Camp Football Foundation)

Check out the SB Nation Channel on YouTube