clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Pro Bowl 2012 Final Score: AFC Sets Record, Evens Series With NFC In 59-41 Win

With a 59-41 victory at Aloha Stadium in Honolulu, AFC set a new record for points by a single team in a Pro Bowl and torched the NFC to even the all-time series in the NFL's all-star game.

The AFC scored 21 straight points in the fourth quarter to break the previous record for points by a team, set by the AFC team that scored 55 in a 55-52 shootout in the 2004 Pro Bowl. The AFC and NFC combined for the most total yards in the game's history.

Dolphins receiver Brandon Marshall stole the spotlight in the game, catching six passes for 177 yards and four touchdowns to win the 2012 Pro Bowl MVP award. His third touchdown catch was particularly great.

Every quarterback selected to the game — Aaron Rodgers, Ben Roethlisberger, Drew Brees, Philip Rivers, Cam Newton, and Andy Dalton — threw for 100 or more yards and two touchdowns. Newton also threw three interceptions, the last of which was returned for the AFC's final touchdown.

For the latest Super Bowl updates, be sure to follow this StoryStream.