clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Pro Football Hall of Fame announces semifinalists for 2013

Six first-year eligible players, including Larry Allen and Warren Sapp, are part of the 27 semifinalists announced under consideration for the Pro Football Hall of Fame Class of 2013.

Wesley Hitt

The Pro Football Hall Of Fame has announced the 27 semifinalists to be considered for the class of 2013, chosen by the Hall of Fame's Selection Committee from the 127 preliminary nominees.

The list included six first-year eligible candidates that include former Dallas Cowboys guard Larry Allen, safety John Lynch, tackle Jonathan Ogden, defensive tackle Warren Sapp and defensive end Michael Strahan. Cornerback Albert Lewis has made it to the semifinalist level for the first time since becoming eligible.

Sapp was a seven-time Pro Bowlers and four-time All-Pro, playing with the Tampa Bay Buccaneers and Oakland Raiders in 13 seasons in the NFL, winning Super Bowl 37 with Tampa Bay in 2002. Allen spent most of his career with the Dallas Cowboys, earning selection to the Pro Bowl eleven times while winning Super Bowl 30 with the Cowboys in 1996.

The list of semifinalists will be reduced to 15 following following a vote by mail, with the final Class of 2013 being determined by the Selection Committee on Saturday, Feb. 2. The inductees will be enshrined on Saturday, Aug. 3 in Canton, Ohio.

The full list of semifinalists is below:

Larry Allen, G/T - 1994-2005 Dallas Cowboys, 2006-07 San Francisco 49ers
Morten Andersen, K - 1982-1994 New Orleans Saints, 1995-2000, 2006-07 Atlanta Falcons, 2001 New York Giants, 2002-03 Kansas City Chiefs, 2004 Minnesota Vikings
Steve Atwater, S - 1989-1998 Denver Broncos, 1999 New York Jets
Jerome Bettis, RB - 1993-95 Los Angeles/St. Louis Rams, 1996-2005 Pittsburgh Steelers
Tim Brown, WR/KR - 1988-2003 Los Angeles/Oakland Raiders, 2004 Tampa Bay Buccaneers
Cris Carter, WR - 1987-89 Philadelphia Eagles, 1990-2001 Minnesota Vikings, 2002 Miami Dolphins
Don Coryell, Coach - 1973-77 St. Louis Cardinals, 1978-1986 San Diego Chargers
Roger Craig, RB - 1983-1990 San Francisco 49ers, 1991 Los Angeles Raiders, 1992-93 Minnesota Vikings
Terrell Davis, RB - 1995-2001 Denver Broncos
Edward DeBartolo, Jr., Owner - 1977-2000 San Francisco 49ers
Kevin Greene, LB/DE - 1985-1992 Los Angeles Rams, 1993-95 Pittsburgh Steelers, 1996, 1998-99 Carolina Panthers, 1997 San Francisco 49ers
Charles Haley, DE/LB - 1986-1991, 1999 San Francisco 49ers, 1992-96 Dallas Cowboys
Joe Jacoby, T - 1981-1993 Washington Redskins
Albert Lewis, CB - 1983-1993 Kansas City Chiefs, 1994-98 Los Angeles/Oakland Raiders
John Lynch, FS - 1993-2003 Tampa Bay Buccaneers, 2004-07 Denver Broncos
Karl Mecklenburg, LB - 1983-1994 Denver Broncos
Art Modell, Owner - 1961-1995 Cleveland Browns, 1996-2011 Baltimore Ravens
Jonathan Ogden, T - 1996-2007 Baltimore Ravens
Bill Parcells, Coach - 1983-1990 New York Giants, 1993-96 New England Patriots, 1997-99 New York Jets, 2003-06 Dallas Cowboys
Andre Reed, WR - 1985-1999 Buffalo Bills, 2000 Washington Redskins
Warren Sapp, DT - 1995-2003 Tampa Bay Buccaneers, 2004-07 Oakland Raiders
Will Shields, G - 1993-2006 Kansas City Chiefs
Michael Strahan, DE - 1993-2007 New York Giants
Paul Tagliabue, Commissioner - 1989-2006 National Football League
Steve Tasker, ST/WR - 1985-86 Houston Oilers, 1986-1997 Buffalo Bills
Aeneas Williams, CB/S - 1991-2000 Phoenix/Arizona Cardinals, 2001-04 St. Louis Rams
George Young, Contributor - 1968-1974 Baltimore Colts, 1975-78 Miami Dolphins, 1979-1997 New York Giants, 1998-2001 National Football League