clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2013 Pro Bowl rosters by college, conference: SEC, ACC lead the way

Tennessee, Georgia, and Miami each place six alumni in the 2013 Pro Bowl.


Six former players from the Tennessee Volunteers, Georgia Bulldogs, and Miami Hurricanes have been named either to the original or replacement 2013 Pro Bowl rosters. The Texas Longhorns and Cal Golden Bears each have five alumni named, while Oklahoma, LSU and Wisconsin each got four. Of the 23 collegiate programs that have multiple Pro Bowl alumni, more than half of them are in either the SEC or ACC.

More surprising are the relatively low number of Pro Bowlers from some of college football's most prestigious programs. Alabama, Notre Dame, Florida, USC, Stanford, Ohio State, Michigan, Virginia Tech, and Clemson each have only one Pro Bowler. Big XII champion Kansas State has none, as do Arkansas, Auburn, and Oregon State.

The SEC has the most Pro Bowlers as a conference, placing 26 on the Pro Bowl roster. The ACC came in second with 19. The Big Ten, Pac-12, and Big XII lagged far behind. The SEC benefited most from conference realignment, adding five Pro Bowlers through its acquisition of Texas A&M and Missouri. The Big Ten's addition of Nebraska brought just two Pro Bowl players, while Colorado and Utah added just one for the Pac-12.

The full Pro Bowl rosters, by college and conference, are listed below (we've included injured players and Super Bowl players):

Southeastern Conference (26)

Tennessee (6)
Peyton Manning
Arian Foster
Jason Witten
Jerod Mayo
Eric Berry
Dustin Colquitt

Georgia (6)
A.J. Green
Geno Atkins
Justin Houston
Champ Bailey
Tim Jennings
Blair Walsh

LSU (4)
Andrew Whitworth
Kevin Williams
LaRon Landry
Patrick Peterson

Missouri (3)
Aldon Smith
Justin Smith
William Moore

Ole Miss (2)
Eli Manning
Patrick Willis

Texas A&M (2)
Von Miller
Don Muhlbach

Alabama (1)
Julio Jones

Florida (1)
Maurkice Pouncey

South Carolina (1)
Jonathan Joseph

Atlantic Coast Conference (19)

Miami (6)
Andre Johnson
Reggie Wayne
Frank Gore
Vince Wilfork
Ed Reed
Chris Myers

Georgia Tech (2)
Demaryius Thomas
Calvin Johnson

Virginia (2)
Matt Schaub
Heath Miller

Boston College (2)
Matt Ryan
Chris Snee

Florida State (2)
Antonio Cromartie
Leon Washington

North Carolina (2)
Jeff Saturday
Julius Peppers

Clemson (1)
C.J. Spiller

Virginia Tech (1)
Duane Brown

Maryland (1)
Randy Starks

Big Ten Conference (16)

Wisconsin (4)
Owen Daniels
Joe Thomas
Russell Wilson
J.J. Watt

Purdue (3)
Drew Brees
Ryan Kerrigan
Anthony Spencer

Penn State (3)
Tamba Hali
NaVorro Bowman
Cameron Wake

Iowa (2)
Marshal Yanda
Chad Greenway

Nebraska (2)
Ndamukong Suh
Richie Incognito

Michigan (1)
Tom Brady

Ohio State (1)
Donte Whitner

Pac-12 Conference (15)

California (5)
Aaron Rodgers
Marshawn Lynch
Tony Gonzalez
Thomas DeCoud
Lorenzo Alexander

Oregon (3)
Max Unger
Haloti Ngata
Jarius Byrd

Washington (2)
Marcel Reece
Dashon Goldson

Stanford (1)
Andrew Luck

Utah (1)
Zane Beadles

USC (1)
Clay Matthews

Arizona (1)
Rob Gronkowski

UCLA (1)
Matthew Slater

Big XII Conference (13)

Texas (5)
Jamaal Charles
Derrick Johnson
Henry Melton
Earl Thomas
Phil Dawson

Oklahoma (4)
Jermaine Gresham
Adrian Peterson
Trent Williams
Gerald McCoy

Baylor (1)
Robert Griffin III

Texas Tech (1)
Wes Welker

Oklahoma State (1)
Russell Okung

Texas Christian (1)
Daryl Washington

Conference USA (5)

Central Florida (2)
Brandon Marshall
Josh Sitton

East Carolina (1)
Vonta Leach

Memphis (1)
Wade Smith

Southern Methodist (1)
Thomas Morstead

Big East Conference (4)

Rutgers (1)
Ray Rice

Pittsburgh (1)
Larry Fitzgerald

Louisville (1)
Elvis Dumervil

South Florida (1)
Jason Pierre-Paul

Mountain West Conference (3)

Boise State (2)
Ryan Clady
Doug Martin

Fresno State (1)
Logan Mankins

FBS Independents (2)

Notre Dame (1)
Kyle Rudolph

BYU (1)
John Denney

Mid-American Conference (2)

Central Michigan (1)
Joe Staley

Kent State (1)
Josh Cribbs

Sun Belt Conference (2)

Troy (1)
Demarcus Ware

Louisiana-Lafayette (1)
Charles Tillman

Western Athletic Conference (1)

Idaho (1)
Mike Iupati

Non-FBS (8)

Furman (1)
Jerome Felton

Massachusetts (1)
Victor Cruz

Northern Colorado (1)
Vincent Jackson

Towson (1)
Jermon Bushrod

Bloomsburg (1)
Jahri Evans

Alabama A&M (1)
Robert Mathis

Idaho State (1)
Jared Allen

John Carroll (1)
London Fletcher

Lane (1)
Jacoby Jones

Look through SB Nation's many excellent college football blogs to find your team's community.