clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

AFC Pro Bowl roster 2013: Peyton Manning at the center of it all

While Manning tries to lead the AFC to an exciting and meaningful win, 14 players have been replaced on his team.

Kirby Lee-USA TODAY Sports

The 2013 AFC Pro Bowl team is led this year by Peyton Manning -- one of the men trying to save the game.

Manning has led a charge this week to save the annual all-star game that might not be around next year. The NFL is toying with the idea of nixing the game, which takes place every year in Hawaii. But Manning has urged his teammates to try harder this year in an attempt to make the game more interesting for fans.

Manning is one of the team's three quarterbacks. He's joined by Houston's Matt Schaub and Indianapolis' Andrew Luck, who replaced New England's Tom Brady because of injury.

The obvious story line Sunday will be Manning and Luck playing together. Manning spent 14 years in Indianapolis, and now Luck, the No. 1 pick in last year's NFL Draft, replaced him.

The AFC had 14 players back out either because of injury or because they will be playing for the Baltimore Ravens in next week's Super Bowl. Some of the bigger names on that list include Brady, Baltimore's Ray Rice, Denver's Von Miller, New England's Vince Wilfork and Baltimore's Ed Reed.

Here's the full roster for this year's AFC Pro Bowl team, including players who have been replaced:


*-Peyton Manning, Denver
x-Tom Brady, New England
y-Andrew Luck, Indianapolis
Matt Schaub, Houston

Running back

*Arian Foster, Houston
Jamaal Charles, Kansas City
z-Ray Rice, Baltimore
y-C.J. Spiller, Buffalo


z-Vonta Leach, Baltimore
*y-Marcel Reece, Oakland

Wide receiver

*-A.J. Green, Cincinnati
*-Andre Johnson, Houston
Reggie Wayne, Indianapolis
x-Wes Welker, New England
y-Demaryius Thomas, Denver

Tight end

x-Rob Gronkowski, New England
x-Heath Miller, Pittsburgh
y-Jermaine Gresham, Cincinnati
y-Owen Daniels, Houston


*-Joe Thomas, Cleveland
*-Duane Brown, Houston
x-Ryan Clady, Denver
y-Andrew Whitworth, Cincinnati


x-Logan Mankins, New England
z-Marshal Yanda, Baltimore
y-Richie Incognito, Miami
Wade Smith, Houston
y-Zane Beadles, Denver


*-Maurkice Pouncey, Pittsburgh
Chris Myers, Houston

Defensive end

*-J.J. Watt, Houston
*-Cameron Wake, Miami
Elvis Dumervil, Denver

Interior linemen

*-Geno Atkins, Cincinnati
x-Vince Wilfork, New England
z-Haloti Ngata, Baltimore
y-Randy Starks, Miami
y-Kyle Williams, Buffalo

Outside linebacker

x-Von Miller, Denver
*-Tamba Hali, Kansas City
Robert Mathis, Indianapolis
y-Justin Houston, Kansas City

Inside/Middle linebacker

*-Jerod Mayo, New England
Derrick Johnson, Kansas City


*-Champ Bailey, Denver
*-Johnathan Joseph, Houston
Antonio Cromartie, N.Y. Jets

Free safety

z-Ed Reed, Baltimore
y-Jairus Byrd, Buffalo

Strong safety

*-Eric Berry, Kansas City
LaRon Landry, N.Y. Jets

Special teams

Dustin Colquitt, Kansas City


Phil Dawson, Cleveland

Kick returner

z-Jacoby Jones, Baltimore
y-Josh Cribbs, Cleveland


Matthew Slater, New England

Long snapper

John Denney, Miami

*-denotes starter
x-denotes out because of injury
y-denotes replacement for injured or Super Bowl player
z-will not play; Super Bowl participant