clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

NFC Pro Bowl roster 2013: Adrian Peterson leads the way for NFC

In what could be the last Pro Bowl game ever, Minnesota's running back is the NFC's star heading into the game Sunday.

Kirby Lee-USA TODAY Sports

Adrian Peterson has one last game to put a bow on his 2012 season.

Peterson had a career year this season, rushing for a league-high 2,097 yards and almost setting an NFL record. He had 12 touchdowns in 16 games, and averaged 131 yards per game. He helped the Vikings into the playoffs, where they lost to the Green Bay Packers in the Wild Card round.

Peterson will be joined in the backfield by Seattle's Marshawn Lynch and Tampa Bay rookie Doug Martin. Martin replaced Frank Gore, who will be playing in the Super Bowl next weekend with the San Francisco 49ers.

While the running backs have stayed fairly consistent since the rosters were originally announced, it's been a merry-go-round for the quarterbacks. Originally, Green Bay's Aaron Rodgers, Atlanta's Matt Ryan and Washington's Robert Griffin III were named to the team. But since then, everyone's dropped like flies.

Rodgers, Ryan and RGIII are out. New Orleans' Drew Brees, the New York Giants' Eli Manning and Seattle's Russell Wilson will take their places Sunday.

Here's the NFC's full roster, including players originally named to the team:


x-Aaron Rodgers, Green Bay
x-Matt Ryan, Atlanta
y-Drew Brees, New Orleans
y-Eli Manning, N.Y. Giants
x-Robert Griffin III, Washington
y-Russell Wilson, Seattle

Running back

*-Adrian Peterson, Minnesota
Marshawn Lynch, Seattle
y-Doug Martin, Tampa Bay
z-Frank Gore, San Francisco


*-Jerome Felton, Minnesota

Wide receiver

x-Calvin Johnson, Detroit
x-Brandon Marshall, Chicago
*-Julio Jones, Atlanta
*-Victor Cruz, N.Y. Giants
y-Larry Fitzgerald, Arizona
y-Vincent Jackson, Tampa Bay

Tight end

x-Tony Gonzalez, Atlanta
y-Kyle Rudolph, Minnesota
Jason Witten, Dallas


z-Joe Staley, San Francisco
*-Russell Okung, Seattle
y-Jermon Bushrod, New Orleans
x-Trent Williams, Washington
y-Matt Kalil, Minnesota


z-Mike Iupati, San Francisco
y-Josh Sitton, Green Bay
*-Jahri Evans, New Orleans
Chris Snee, N.Y. Giants


*-Max Unger, Seattle
Jeff Saturday, Green Bay

Defensive end

*-Jason Pierre-Paul, N.Y. Giants
*-Julius Peppers, Chicago
Jared Allen, Minnesota

Interior linemen

z-Justin Smith, San Francisco
*-Henry Melton, Chicago
y-Ndamukong Suh, Detroit
Gerald McCoy, Tampa Bay

Outside linebacker

z-Aldon Smith, San Francisco
x-DeMarcus Ware, Dallas
x-Clay Matthews, Green Bay
y-Chad Greenway, Minnesota
y-Ryan Kerrigan, Washington
y-Anthony Spencer, Dallas

Inside/Middle linebacker

y-Daryl Washington, Arizona
y-London Fletcher, Washington
z-Patrick Willis, San Francisco
z-NaVorro Bowman, San Francisco


*-Charles Tillman, Chicago
*-Tim Jennings, Chicago
Patrick Peterson, Arizona

Free safety

z-Dashon Goldson, San Francisco
Earl Thomas, Seattle
y-Thomas DeCoud, Atlanta

Strong safety

z-Donte Whitner, San Francisco
y-William Moore, Atlanta

Special teams

Thomas Morstead, New Orleans


Blair Walsh, Minnesota

Kick returner

Leon Washington, Seattle


Lorenzo Alexander, Washington

Long snapper

Don Muhlbach, Detroit

*-denotes starter
x-denotes out because of injury
y-denotes replacement for injured or Super Bowl player
z-will not play; Super Bowl participant