clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Pro Bowl rosters 2014: 41 players selected from the NFC

The Pro Bowl selections were announced on Friday with Drew Brees, Marshawn Lynch and Richard Sherman among the players picked from the NFC.

Kirby Lee-USA TODAY Sports

The NFL announced the 2014 Pro Bowl selections and 41 were chosen from the NFC to play in this season's All-Star game.

For the first time ever, the Pro Bowl is not organized by conference. The top vote-getters from across the league were chosen regardless of conference and have been put into a draft pool. Jerry Rice and Deion Sanders will serve as team captains to select the two rosters.

Saints quarterback Drew Brees returns to the Pro Bowl and will be joined by Cam Newton and Russell Wilson from the NFC. Marshawn Lynch was second in the conference and one of five NFC running backs to make the All-Star game. Three members of Seattle's secondary were picked with Richard Sherman, Earl Thomas and Kam Chancellor all selected.

Pro Bowl selections were determined by the consensus voting of fans, coaches and players. The NFL is the only professional sports league to incorporate all three votes in the selection.

The changes to the Pro Bowl selection process are part of a larger makeover designed to reinvigorate the struggling game. The league has even revamped the rules in an effort to make it safer for players and more exciting for fans. Kickoffs have been removed, two-minute warnings instituted every quarter and the play clock shortened.

More Pro Bowl: AFC roster Snubs

Teams will be finalized during the inaugural Pro Bowl Draft, which will air live at 8 p.m. ET Jan. 22 on the NFL Network. The game itself will be played in Hawaii on Jan. 26.

NFC Pro Bowl selections:





Drew Brees, New Orleans

Russell Wilson, Seattle

Cam Newton, Carolina

Running back

Marshawn Lynch, Seattle

LeSean McCoy, Philadelphia

Matt Forte, Chicago

Frank Gore, San Francisco

Adrian Peterson, Minnesota

Fullback Mike Tolbert, Carolina
Wide receiver

Calvin Johnson, Detroit

Brandon Marshall, Chicago

Dez Bryant, Dallas

Tight end

Vernon Davis, San Francisco

Jimmy Graham, New Orleans


Trent Williams, Washington

Jason Peters, Philadelphia

Tyron Smith, Dallas

Joe Staley, San Francisco


Ryan Kalil, Carolina

Max Unger, Seattle


Jahri Evans, New Orleans

Ben Grubbs, New Orleans

Mike Iupati, San Francisco




Defensive end

Robert Quinn, St. Louis

Greg Hardy, Carolina

Cameron Jordan, New Orleans

Defensive tackle

Ndamukong Suh, Detroit

Gerald McCoy, Tampa Bay

Justin Smith, San Francisco

Outside linebacker

John Abraham, Arizona

Ahmad Brooks, San Francisco

Inside linebacker

NaVorro Bowman, San Francisco

Luke Kuechly, Carolina

Patrick Willis, San Francisco


Darrelle Revis, Tampa Bay

Richard Sherman, Seattle

Patrick Peterson, Arizona

Free safety Earl Thomas, Seattle
Strong safety Kam Chancellor, Seattle
Special teams



Punter Johnny Hekker, St. Louis
Kicker N/A
Return man N/A
Special teamer Justin Bethel, Arizona

More from SB Nation NFL

NFL Week 17 picks for every game | Watchability Index | Playoff picture

NFL Power Rankings: 49ers, Seahawks steady at the top

PFT Commenter: It’s ‘Back to the Future’ for Phony Romo

Stephen White’s Notebook: Stopping Russell Wilson

Death of a football player: Helmet-to-helmet hit killed Derek Sheely