clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2014 Pro Bowl rosters: Peyton Manning, Tom Brady headline AFC selections

Peyton Manning headlines the AFC Pro Bowl picks with his 13th career selection. Tom Brady and Jamaal Charles were among the other players chosen.

Thomas Campbell-USA TODAY Sports

The NFL announced the 2014 Pro Bowl selections Friday night and for the second consecutive season, Denver Broncos quarterback Peyton Manning led the NFL in total votes.

Manning is enjoying the best statistical season of his career. He leads the league with 5,201 yards and 51 touchdowns. He was one of three AFC quarterbacks selected, along with Tom Brady and Philip Rivers.

Manning is one of 43 AFC players selected to the first ever non-conference Pro Bowl. Rather than selecting an AFC and a NFC team, fans, players and coaches voted on the top performers at each position, regardless of conference. In January, Hall of Famers Jerry Rice and Deion Sanders will hold a fantasy-style draft to determine the two teams that will face off in the Jan. 26 all-star game.

Running back Jamaal Charles was second among AFC vote-getters. The Kansas City Chief leads the league in rushing touchdowns with 12 and has racked up another seven through the air. Charles was one of eight Chiefs selected.

Brady picked up his ninth Pro Bowl selection. Despite a makeshift receiving corps, Brady put up top-10 yardage, touchdown and completion numbers, though his 88.0 passer rating ranks 17th in the league.

Houston Texans defensive end J.J. Watt earned the most votes of any defender in the AFC, though some of that may be the residual effect of his eye-popping 2012 campaign. While he's dropped from 20.5 sacks and 16 passes defended to 9.5 sacks and six bat-downs this season, he's still been one of the conference's more productive defenders while playing on the league's worst team.

The changes to this year's Pro Bowl selection process are part of a larger makeover designed to reinvigorate the struggling game. The league has even revamped the rules in an effort to make it safer for players and more exciting for fans. Kickoffs have been removed, two-minute warnings instituted every quarter and the play clock shortened.

Teams will be finalized during the inaugural Pro Bowl Draft, which will air live at 8 p.m. ET Jan. 22 on the NFL Network. The game itself will be played in Hawaii on Jan. 26.

AFC Pro Bowl selections:





Peyton Manning, Denver

Tom Brady, New England

Philip Rivers, San Diego

Running back Jamaal Charles, Kansas City
Fullback Marcel Reece, Oakland
Wide receiver

Andre Johnson, Houston

A.J. Green, Cincinnati

Antonio Brown, Pittsburgh

Josh Gordon, Cleveland

Demaryius Thomas, Denver

Tight end

Jordan Cameron, Cleveland

Julius Thomas, Denver


Joe Thomas, Cleveland

Branden Albert, Kansas City


Alex Mack, Cleveland

Mike Pouncey, Miami


Logan Mankins, New England

Louis Vasquez, Denver

Marshal Yanda, Baltimore




Defensive end

J.J. Watt, Houston

Cameron Wake, Miami

Mario Williams, Buffalo

Defensive tackle

Haloti Ngata, Baltimore

Dontari Poe, Kansas City

Kyle Williams, Buffalo

Outside linebacker

Tamba Hali, Kansas City

Justin Houston, Kansas City

Robert Mathis, Indianapolis

Terrell Suggs, Baltimore

Inside linebacker Vontaze Burfict, Cincinnati

Alterraun Verner, Tennessee

Brandon Flowers, Kansas City

Brent Grimes, Miami

Joe Haden, Cleveland

Aqib Talib, New England

Free safety

Jairus Byrd, Buffalo

Eric Weddle San Diego

Strong safety

Eric Berry, Kansas City

Troy Polamalu, Pittsburgh

Special teams



Punter Brandon Fields, Miami

Justin Tucker, Baltimore

Matt Prater, Denver

Return man Dexter McCluster, Kansas City
Special teamer Matthew Slater, New England

More from SB Nation NFL

NFL Week 17 picks for every game | Watchability Index | Playoff picture

NFL Power Rankings: 49ers, Seahawks steady at the top

PFT Commenter: It’s ‘Back to the Future’ for Phony Romo

Stephen White’s Notebook: Stopping Russell Wilson

Death of a football player: Helmet-to-helmet hit killed Derek Sheely