clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

NFL to create Deacon Jones Award for annual sacks leader

Commissioner Roger Goodell has created a way to honor the player that coined the term "sack."

David Maxwell

The NFL has plans to permanently honor Deacon Jones, just three weeks after the death of the Hall of Fame defensive lineman. Commissioner Roger Goodell is expected to announce the creation of the Deacon Jones Award, given annually to the player with the most sacks in a season, according to Ian Rapoport of

Jones was credited with coining the term "sack" during his 14-year career in the NFL with the Los Angeles Rams, San Diego Chargers and Washington Redskins. The eight-time Pro Bowler was unofficially credited with 26 sacks in 1967 and 24 in 1968, although sacks were not an official stat at the time. Instead, the official single-season record for sacks is 22.5, held by Michael Strahan.

Had the award been presented at the conclusion of the 2012 NFL season, Houston Texans defensive lineman J.J. Watt would've been the recipient, after accumulating 20.5 sacks on his way to the title of AP Defensive Player of the Year.

Jones died June 3 in his home in Anaheim Hills, Calif. The award will be among those featured in the annual "NFL Honors" award show, presented on the night before the Super Bowl.

More from SB Nation:

Can the Ravens repeat?

Putin has a solution for you, Mr. Kraft

Will RG3, Revis be ready for training camp?

Warren Sapp rips Michael Strahan again

Aaron Hernandez linked to murder investigation

Uffsides: A smile-off with Hines Ward