clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Andrew Luck, Nick Foles added to 2014 Pro Bowl rosters

With injuries and player availability taking a toll on the all-star game's preexisting lineup, replacements are being named to fill in.

David Butler II-USA TODAY Sports

Rosters for the 2014 Pro Bowl were released weeks ago, but, as is always the case, injuries and player availability will result in additional players being called in as reinforcements.

Since the NFL moved the Pro Bowl to a week in front of the Super Bowl instead of a week after it, those playing in the title game are unavailable for the all-star festivities. The league designates alternates for such cases. With five Denver Broncos and six Seattle Seahawks heading to Super Bowl XLVIII instead of Hawaii, the league will be on the lookout for nearly a dozen fill-ins.

Injuries also take their toll. Most notably, San Francisco 49ers linebacker NaVorro Bowman will miss the game after suffering a severe knee injury in the NFC Championship. Injuries will also keep Adrian Peterson and Calvin Johnson away from Hawaii.

Andre Johnson, Haloti Ngata and Jason Peters, all of whom dealt with various injuries during the season, have declined their invitations.

Pittsburgh Steeler Antonio Brown has been reassigned as a wide receiver, opening up a spot at kick return specialist.

Below is a rolling list of the 2014 Pro Bowl replacements:

Andrew Luck (Indianapolis Colts QB) - replaces Seattle's Russell Wilson

Nick Mangold (New York Jets C) - replaces Seattle's Max Unger

Alfred Morris (Washington Redskins RB) - replaces Seattle's Marshawn Lynch

Nick Foles (Philadelphia Eagles QB) - replaces Denver's Peyton Manning

Larry Fitzgerald (Arizona Cardinals WR) - replaces Denver's Demaryius Thomas

Stephen Gostkowski (New England Patriots K) - replaces Denver's Matt Prater

Jason Witten (Dallas Cowboys TE) - replaces Denver's Julius Thomas

DeSean Jackson (Philadelphia Eagles WR) - replaces Houston's Andre Johnson

Eddie Lacy (Green Bay Packers RB) - replaces Minnesota's Adrian Peterson

Alshon Jeffery (Chicago Bears WR) - replaces Detroit's Calvin Johnson

Evan Mathis (Philadelphia Eagles LG)

Duane Brown (Houston Texans LT) - replaces Philadelphia's Jason Peters

Jason Hatcher (Dallas Cowboys DT) - replaces Baltimore's Haloti Ngata

Cordarrelle Patterson (Minnesota Vikings KR) - replaces Pittsburgh's Antonio Brown

More from SB Nation NFL

SB Nation's 2014 NFL playoff coverage and brackets

Broncos advance to Super Bowl behind Peyton Manning | Full coverage

Seahawks outlast 49ers in NFC classic | Full coverage

Breaking Madden: The BEEFTANK Trilogy concludes | More

Tom Brady’s facepalm says it all

NFL mock draft: Johnny Football cracks the top 5