clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Team Sanders Pro Bowl 2014 roster: Defensive front leads the way for Deion Sanders' unit

New, comment

The starting defensive front seven of Team Sanders combined for 63 sacks.

While Jerry Rice earned the rights to Drew Brees, as the New Orleans Saints quarterback was named captain of Team Rice, Deion Sanders may have locked up the better overall quarterback play for his team by selecting Andrew Luck and Cam Newton with his first two picks.

However, the biggest strength for Team Sanders may be a starting front seven that recorded 63 sacks, featuring J.J. Watt and Greg Hardy as the starting defensive ends.

Team Sanders Offense


Andrew Luck, Indianapolis Colts
Cam Newton, Carolina Panthers
Nick Foles, Philadelphia Eagles

Luck was the first overall selection by Deion Sanders after racking up 23 touchdowns and nine interceptions in his second season in the NFL. The No. 1 overall selection in the 2012 NFL Draft earned a Pro Bowl bid as a rookie as well, and finished with 205 yards passing with two touchdowns and an interception. Newton was Sanders' second pick and the addition of Foles likely gives Team Sanders the stronger quarterback group from top to bottom.

Running backs

Jamaal Charles, Kansas City Chiefs (team captain)
Eddie Lacy, Green Bay Packers
Alfred Morris, Washington Redskins

Charles racked up 12 rushing touchdowns and seven touchdown receptions in his first season in Andy Reid's system, earning team captain honors for the Pro Bowl. The First-Team All-Pro leads a running back group that has Lacy and Morris to boot. That might pale in comparison to Team Rice's running back corps though, which features LeSean McCoy and DeMarco Murray.

Wide receivers

Dez Bryant, Dallas Cowboys
A.J. Green, Cincinnati Bengals
Antonio Brown, Pittsburgh Steelers
DeSean Jackson, Philadelphia Eagles

Team Sanders will start the first two receivers selected in the Pro Bowl draft, Bryant and Green. The pair combined for 2,659 yards and 24 touchdowns in 2013 and will provide tough targets for the Team Rice defensive backs to cover.

Tight ends

Jordan Cameron, Cleveland Browns
Jason Witten, Dallas Cowboys

Much like Josh Gordon, Cameron racked up solid stats in the Cleveland Browns offense, despite quarterback play that was among the NFL's worst in 2013. His seven touchdowns and just under 1,000 yards receiving were not enough to warrant a draft selection, nor was Jason Witten's production, as both players were assigned to Team Sanders.

Offensive tackles

Duane Brown, Houston Texans
Trent Williams, Washington Redskins
Branden Albert, Kansas City Chiefs

Brown was selected in Round 13 of the Pro Bowl draft, but will start at left tackle after he was the second offensive tackle taken. Joe Thomas was chosen for Team Rice, leaving Brown to start at left tackle for Team Sanders, with Trent Williams on the opposite side of the line. Branden Albert will see playing time in a reserve role.

Offensive guards

Marshal Yanda, Baltimore Ravens
Logan Mankins, New England Patriots
Kyle Long, Chicago Bears

Yanda is headed to his third consecutive Pro Bowl and will be joined in the starting lineup by Mankins who is headed to his sixth Pro Bowl and fifth straight. The experienced pair will be backed up by Long, the 20th overall selection in the 2013 NFL Draft.


Mike Pouncey, Miami Dolphins
Alex Mack, Cleveland Browns

Pouncey will start in the middle of the offensive line after his first Pro Bowl bid. Mack will play in a reserve role after making his first Pro Bowl since taking a lateral 40 yards for a touchdown in the Pro Bowl three years ago.


Marcel Reece, Oakland Raiders

Team Sanders Defense

Defensive end

J.J. Watt, Houston Texans (team captain)
Greg Hardy, Carolina Panthers
Mario Williams, Buffalo Bills

The three defensive ends for Team Sanders combined for 38.5 sacks in 2013, led by 15 from Hardy. Watt's numbers paled in comparison to his 2012 campaign, but was he named a team captain for Sanders' team.

Defensive tackles

Ndamukong Suh, Detroit Lions
Gerald McCoy, Tampa Bay Buccaneers
Dontari Poe, Kansas City Chiefs

There was debate about the ranking of Suh and McCoy in the 2010 NFL Draft, but there was little debate that both were worth top-five selections. Four seasons later, they may be the top two defensive tackles in the NFL, starting next to each other on Team Sanders after both receiving First-Team All-Pro selections.

Outside linebackers

Tamba Hali, Kansas City Chiefs
Terrell Suggs, Baltimore Ravens
Brian Orakpo, Washington Redskins

Both Pro Bowl rosters feature plenty of pass rushers at the outside linebacker position with Justin Houston of Team Rice as the first outside linebacker to come off the board. With Hali and Suggs as the starters for Team Sanders, the group will have more experience than Team Rice, but it will be the transition into a scheme that will likely not feature the pair in their typical 3-4 outside linebacker role.

Inside linebackers

Luke Kuechly, Carolina Panthers
Paul Posluszny, Jacksonville Jaguars

Kuechly received the AP Defensive Rookie of the Year Award in 2012 and First-Team All-Pro honors in his second season. Selected in Round 8 of the Pro Bowl draft, Kuechly was the first linebacker off the board and will be backed up by Posluszny, the sole Jaguars player selected to the Pro Bowl.


Patrick Peterson, Arizona Cardinals
Darrelle Revis, Tampa Bay Buccaneers
Brent Grimes, Miami Dolphins
Tim Jennings, Chicago Bears

Peterson and Revis were selected in Rounds 3 and 7, respectively, and were the first two cornerbacks off the board. While they'll have the tough task of shutting down Josh Gordon and Alshon Jeffery, the pair were early selections by Sanders, who unsurprisingly valued cornerbacks early.


Eric Berry, Kansas City Chiefs
Eric Weddle, San Diego Chargers
T.J. Ward, Cleveland Browns

Berry was a Round 9 selection and the first safety to come off the board, and will be alongside Weddle who was a Round 17 pick. Ward was taken in the penultimate round and will see time in a reserve role.

Special Teams


Justin Tucker, Baltimore Ravens


Brandon Fields, Miami Dolphins

Punt returner

Cordarrelle Patterson, Minnesota Vikings

Long snapper

J.J. Jansen, Carolina Panthers

Special teamer

Matthew Slater, New England Patriots

More from SB Nation NFL

SB Nation's complete coverage of Super Bowl XLVIII

Spencer Hall: Peyton’s pitiless farewell tour continues | His arsenal of receivers

David Roth: On dreaming of a grayish-white Super Bowl

Super Bowl picks from SB Nation's experts | Uffsides: A totally unbiased preview

The sordid end of David Meggett: From All-Pro to prison

Senior Bowl 2014 | Measurements released | Game preview