clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

NFL Honors recap: Peyton Manning nabs MVP, OPOY awards, Ron Rivera is Coach of the Year

Peyton Manning is your MVP and Offensive Player of the Year, Luke Kuechly took home DPOY honors and Ron Rivera is your NFL Coach of the Year.

Mark J. Rebilas-USA TODAY Sports

SB Nation 2014 NFL Playoff Coverage

The 2014 NFL Honors have been given out, though the Honors Show itself has not wrapped up. The awards for the 2013 season were announced by the NFL throughout the day, via its official Twitter account. The show itself is on FOX and is much more about the presentation of the awards than the actual revealing of them.

As expected, Peyton Manning of the Denver Broncos was named the MVP and Offensive Player of the Year. We'll go through all of the awards below.

MVP: Peyton Manning, Denver Broncos

To the surprise of no one, Manning won his fifth career MVP award after shattering multiple passing records and leading the Broncos to the Super Bowl. At 37 years old, he's shown no signs of slowing down and is playing even better after neck surgeries in 2011.

Offensive Player of the Year: Peyton Manning, Denver Broncos

This is the second time in Manning's career that he's doubled up on both MVP and OPOY, with the first coming in 2004.

Defensive Player of the Year: Luke Kuechly, Carolina Panthers

After taking home the rookie award in 2012, Kuechly emerged as arguably the best inside linebacker in football. He set a franchise record with 156 tackles and had four interceptions to boot. Kuechly is the anchor of Carolina's stingy defense.

Offensive Rookie of the Year: Eddie Lacy, Green Bay Packers

A second-round pick out of Alabama, Lacy stepped up big-time when Aaron Rodgers went down, putting the offense on his back and helping the Packers stay in the playoff race. He finished with 1,178 rushing yards and 11 touchdowns despite missing time with a concussion. His biggest competition was San Diego Chargers wide receiver Keenan Allen.

Defensive Rookie of the Year: Sheldon Richardson, New York Jets

Richardson came storming out of the gates and teamed up with Muhammad Wilkerson to form one of the best lines in the league. He recorded 77 tackles, 3.5 sacks and a forced fumble. Already one of the top 3-4 linemen in football, Richardson's ceiling is sky-high.

Coach of the Year: Ron Rivera, Carolina Panthers

Two weeks into the season, Rivera was on one of the hottest seats in the league. Then "Riverboat Ron" kicked in, and five months later the Panthers won the NFC South and Rivera got a three-year extension. The NFL works in mysterious ways.

Comeback Player of the Year: Philip Rivers, San Diego Chargers

What a difference a new coach makes. Rivers looked old and washed up in his last year under Norv Turner, but Mike McCoy came in and breathed new life into his career. Rivers set a career high with a 69.5 passing percentage, throwing for 4,478 yards and 32 touchdowns with just 11 interceptions. It was his lowest interception total since 2009. The Chargers squeaked into the playoffs and knocked off the Bengals on the road, capping off an impressive revival for Rivers.

Other Awards Given

Breaking Madden

Fantasy Player of the Year: Jamaal Charles
Greatness on the Road Award: Nick Foles, Week 9
Don Shula High School Coach of the Year: Mike Grant
Pepsi Next Rookie of the Year: Keenan Allen
GMC Never Say Never Moment of the Year: Aaron Rodgers
Deacon Jones Award: Robert Mathis
Walter Payton Man of the Year: Charles Tillman
Play of the Year: Calvin Johnson catch in triple coverage vs. Bengals
FedEx Air Player of the Year: Peyton Manning
FedEx Ground Player of the Year: LeSean McCoy

More from SB Nation NFL

SB Nation's complete coverage of Super Bowl XLVIII

Danny Kelly: Is Russell Wilson really a ‘game manager’?

PFT Commenter's ultimate Super Bowl party | Spilly's Rocky Mountain tacos

Behind the Boom: The secrets of the Seahawks' secondary

NFL mock draft: Blake Bortles is the new No. 1 pick

The sordid end of David Meggett: From All-Pro to prison