clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Brett Favre, Kurt Warner headline 2016 Hall of Fame semifinalists

Brett Favre, Terrell Owens and Alan Faneca are the only three semifinalists in their first year of Hall of Fame eligibility.

Chuck Cook-USA TODAY Sports

The Pro Football Hall of Fame narrowed the field of potential members of the Class of 2016 to 25 semifinalists on Tuesday, including players like Brett Favre, Terrell Owens and Kurt Warner.

Favre and Owens are two of five players to be named semifinalists for the first time, along with Tony Boselli, Alan Faneca and Sam Mills, although only Favre, Owens and Faneca are in their first year of eligibility. Terrell Davis and Kevin Greene are each semifinalists for the 10th time, the most for any of the 25 remaining nominees.

The list of 25 semifinalists was cut from a group of 108 nominees named in September and will be cut down to 15 in early January. The final Class of 2016 will be determined on Jan. 31 and can include no more than five modern-era members who receive an 80 percent positive vote from the selection committee.

Three senior finalists will also be voted on separately, making a possibility of eight members in the Class of 2016. Ken Stabler, Dick Stanfel and Eddie DeBartolo, Jr. are the three senior finalists.

The full list of modern-era semifinalists are as follows:


Brett Favre (Falcons, Packers, Jets, Vikings)
Kurt Warner (Rams, Giants, Cardinals)

Running backs

Roger Craig (49ers, Raiders, Vikings)
Terrell Davis (Broncos)
Edgerrin James (Colts, Cardinals, Seahawks)

Wide receivers

Isaac Bruce (Rams, 49ers)
Marvin Harrison (Colts)
Torry Holt (Rams, Jaguars)
Terrell Owens (49ers, Eagles, Cowboys, Bills, Bengals)

Offensive linemen

Tony Boselli, T (Jaguars, Texans)
Alan Faneca, G (Steelers, Jets, Cardinals)
Joe Jacoby, T (Washington)
Mike Kenn, T (Falcons)
Kevin Mawae, C/G (Seahawks, Jets, Titans)
Orlando Pace, T (Rams, Bears)


Kevin Greene (Rams, Steelers, Panthers, 49ers)
Karl Mecklenburg (Broncos)
Sam Mills (Saints, Panthers)

Defensive backs

Steve Atwater, S (Broncos, Jets)
Ty Law, CB (Patriots, Jets, Chiefs, Broncos)
John Lynch, S (Buccaneers, Broncos)


Morten Andersen (Saints, Falcons, Giants, Chiefs, Vikings)


Don Coryell (Cardinals, Chargers)
Tony Dungy (Buccaneers, Colts)
Jimmy Johnson (Cowboys, Dolphins)