clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

NFL confirms Ravens were lined up onside during 'kick-six' play

New, comments

Anthony Levine lined up outside of the neutral zone, according to NFL vice president of officiating Dean Blandino.

In the aftermath of Monday Night Football's incredible ending, fans of the Cleveland Browns have pointed out that Baltimore Ravens corner Anthony Levine appeared to line up in the neutral zone on the game's pivotal "kick-six" play. However, the NFL said Tuesday that Levine lined up correctly and the referees correctly officiated the down.

According to NFL vice president of officiating Dean Blandino, the confusion centers around where the TV broadcast displayed the line of scrimmage:

Judging from the replay, it does look as though the digital line of scrimmage is beyond the football. Levine's right hand appears close to the actual line of scrimmage, but it's hard to tell whether it crossed into the neutral zone.

Ultimately, the evidence that the play should have drawn a flag remains inconclusive at best and poor at worst. Either way, the Browns lost the game, their 22nd final-play defeat since they came back into existence in 1999.