clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Pro Bowl 2016 roster announced: Cam Newton, J.J. Watt lead the way

Now we wait for team selections.

The 2016 Pro Bowl roster was announced Tuesday night, making up the pools of players to be drafted by teams captained by Michael Irvin and Jerry Rice in the week leading up to the game. Cam Newton and J.J. Watt unsurprisingly highlight the 2016 roster, with Newton leading his team to an undefeated season and Watt being a steady fan favorite.

The Pro Bowl is no longer an AFC vs. NFC matchup, but rather two teams drafted by former NFL greats. Last year's competition was led by Hall of Fame receivers Michael Irvin and Cris Carter; the year before was Jerry Rice and Deion Sanders. Both Irvin and Rice won their respective year's Pro Bowl, and will be competing for the undefeated accolade in 2016.

The four leading vote recipients -- two offensive and two defensive -- will serve as the players captains in the 2016 Pro Bowl, and will help with the live draft on Jan. 27. Each team will eventually include 44 players -- 21 on offense, 18 on defense and five on special teams.

This year, the Panthers led all teams with 10 Pro Bowl selections. Behind them, the Cardinals, Patriots and Seahawks each had seven selections.

As usual, players drafted from teams advancing through the postseason, and possibly playing in the Super Bowl, will miss out on the annual event. Others may miss the game due to injuries, or the fear of sustaining one, and will be replaced by Pro Bowl alternates.

The Pro Bowl will take place on Jan. 31 in Honolulu, Hawaii, at Aloha Stadium -- with some of the League's best players lining up in what the NFL is trying to keep a competitive game.

Here is the full roster of Pro Bowl players:



Tom Brady, Patriots
Cam Newton, Panthers
Carson Palmer, Cardinals
Aaron Rodgers, Packers
Ben Roethlisberger, Steelers
Russell Wilson, Seahawks

Running back

Devonta Freeman, Falcons
Todd Gurley, Rams
Doug Martin, Buccaneers
LeSean McCoy, Bills
Adrian Peterson, Vikings
Jonathan Stewart, Panthers


Marcel Reece, Raiders
Mike Tolbert, Panthers

Wide Receiver

Odell Beckham, Giants
Antonio Brown, Steelers
Larry Fitzgerald, Cardinals
A.J. Green, Bengals
DeAndre Hopkins, Texans
Calvin Johnson, Lions
Julio Jones, Falcons
Brandon Marshall, Jets

Offensive Tackle

Jason Peters, Eagles
Tyron Smith, Cowboys
Joe Staley, 49ers
Joe Thomas, Browns
Andrew Whitworth, Bengals
Trent Williams, Redskins


David DeCastro, Steelers
Mike Iupati, Cardinals
Zack Martin, Cowboys
Josh Sitton, Packers
Trai Turner, Panthers
Marshal Yanda, Ravens


Travis Frederick, Cowboys
Ryan Kalil, Panthers
Alex Mack, Browns
Mike Pouncey, Dolphins

Tight End

Tyler Eifert, Bengals
Rob Gronkowski, Patriots
Travis Kelce, Chiefs
Greg Olsen, Panthers


Defensive End

Ezekiel Ansah, Lions
Michael Bennett, Seahawks
Chandler Jones, Patriots
Khalil Mack, Raiders
J.J. Watt, Texans
Muhammad Wilkerson, Jets

Interior Linemen

Geno Atkins, Bengals
Calais Campbell, Cardinals
Fletcher Cox, Eagles
Aaron Donald, Rams
Gerald McCoy, Bucs
Kawann Short, Panthers

Outside Linebacker

Jamie Collins, Patriots
Thomas Davis, Panthers
Tamba Hali, Chiefs
Justin Houston, Chiefs
Von Miller, Broncos
DeMarcus Ware, Broncos

Inside / Middle Linebacker

NaVorro Bowman, 49ers
Luke Kuechly, Panthers
Clay Matthews, Packers
Bobby Wagner, Seahawks


Malcolm Butler, Patriots
Chris Harris, Broncos
Josh Norman, Panthers
Marcus Peters, Chiefs
Patrick Peterson, Cardinals
Darrelle Revis, Jets
Richard Sherman, Seahawks
Aqib Talib, Broncos

Free Safety

Tyrann Mathieu, Cardinals
Reggie Nelson, Bengals
Earl Thomas, Seahawks

Strong Safety

Eric Berry, Chiefs
Kam Chancellor, Seahawks
Charles Woodson, Raiders

Special Teams


Sam Koch, Ravens
Johnny Hekker, Rams


Stephen Gostkowski, Patriots
Dan Bailey, Cowboys

Return Specialists

Darren Sproles, Eagles
Tyler Lockett, Seahawks

Special Teamer

Matthew Slater, Patriots
Justin Bethel, Cardinals

* * *

SB Nation presents: Cam Newton is an indestructible superhero