clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Brett Favre tops the short list for the Pro Football Hall of Fame class of 2016

New, comments

With this year's group is now immortalized in the Hall of Fame, get ready for Brett Favre and more for next year.

Craig Jones/Getty Images

Now that this year's Pro Football Hall of Fame class has been bronzed, honored and inducted, it's time to look ahead to who should be in the 2016 class.

The 2016 class will differ slightly from this year's group. Bill Polian and Ron Wolf were inducted this year as members in the contributor category, which is for a non-player or coach. Next year, there will be only one contributor inducted. The 2016 class will also include two senior members after Mike Tingelhoff was the only senior member this year.

Here's who should make the cut in 2016:

Brett Favre: The Ol' Gunslinger should be an easy selection in his first year eligible for the hall of fame. There are plenty of Favre detractors, but he deserves to go in for his stats alone. No one has passed for more yards, completions, attempts or even interceptions as Favre. He was the first player to throw 500 touchdowns. He's the only player to win the league's MVP award three years in a row. He made 11 Pro Bowls, six All-Pro teams and won Super Bowl XXXI. Favre's career is one of attrition. He started a record 297 games, an incredible number when you consider that the league's active leader -- Eli Manning -- enters the season at 167 consecutive.

Favre's career is one of moments. There is the 399-yard, four-touchdown performance on Monday Night Football the day after his father died. The verbal spats with longtime rival Warren Sapp. Throwing a game-winning touchdown with 13 seconds in his first real game with the Packers. It's the toughness in the frigid Green Bay winters. The "will he or won't he retire" end of Favre's career may be the thing of jokes now. How he got there isn't.

Fun fact: No quarterback has gone into the Hall of Fame since Troy Aikman and Warren Moon in 2006.

Terrell Owens: There are two ways you can choose to think about Owens. For some, he's the shredded buffoon doing push-ups in his driveway and playing for six different teams -- including an indoor football team. It's the end zone celebrations and celebrating on the star at Texas Stadium. Owens exemplifies most of what we loathe about the modern athlete.

For others, he's one of the most productive wide receivers in NFL history. Despite all of his discrepancies, Owens produced. He's second in league history in receiving yards with 15,934; third in receiving touchdowns with 153; and sixth in receptions with 1,078. He starred in Super Bowl XXXIX, a losing effort, despite having ankle surgery a few weeks before the game. Unlike other recent receivers put into the hall, Owens shouldn't have to wait to get inducted.

Orlando Pace: Throughout the early 2000s, the three best offensive tackles in the NFL were Pace, Walter Jones and Jonathan Ogden. Both Jones (2014) and Ogden (2013) have been enshrined. Now it's time for Pace to join them. A member of the 2000s all-decade team, Pace was the offensive line anchor on the St. Louis Rams' Greatest Show on Turf teams, a seven-time Pro Bowler and five-time All-Pro. There is a logjam of those Rams players with Kurt Warner, Isaac Bruce and Torry Holt all waiting to get in. A reasonable argument could be made for each, but Pace's positional status gives him the boost.

Marvin Harrison: Despite playing in an era of bloated passing stats, Harrison still managed to stand out. He had 1,102 receptions, 14,580 receiving yards and 128 touchdowns playing 13 seasons with the Indianapolis Colts. He should have a spot before Bruce and Holt.

Morten Andersen: The selection committee tends to be unkind toward specialists, but Andersen is deserving. He played 24 seasons, missing just 10 extra points. He holds the league record for most field goals made and attempted. Sure, those numbers are a symptom of his longevity, but records are records. This one is the least likely with players like Kevin Greene, Alan Faneca and coaches like Tony Dungy and Jimmy Johnson waiting to get in.

Jerry Kramer and L.C. Greenwood: These should be the two senior selections. There are a ton of the 1960s Packers in the Hall of Fame already and Kramer should join them. Kramer was the lynchpin blocker of the famous "Packers Sweep" run play. He was one of the great offensive linemen of his time, landing on the NFL's 50th anniversary team and the all-decade team of the 1960s. If another 1960s Packer can get in, another 1970s Steeler in Greenwood can, too. The defensive end is the best player from those Pittsburgh teams not in the hall, despite making six Pro Bowls and being on the 1970s all-decade team.

Steve Sabol: Although his father, Ed Sabol, was inducted in 2011, Steve Sabol is equally deserving as a contributor. He was the face of NFL Films, helping popularize the sport with the everyman.

SB Nation archives: The awesome style of the 1980s NFL (2014)