clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Brett Favre leads 2016 Hall of Fame finalists

Favre, Owens and Faneca all made it as finalists in their first year of eligibility.

Jeff Hanisch-USA TODAY Sports

It should be no surprise that former Green Bay Packers and Minnesota Vikings quarterback Brett Favre has been named one of the 15 modern-era finalists for the Pro Football Hall of Fame Class of 2016. The full list of finalists was revealed on Thursday, and also includes standouts like wide receiver Terrell Owens and guard Alan Faneca.

Notable exclusions on the list include running back Roger Craig, wide receivers Isaac Bruce and Torry Holt, as well as cornerback Ty Law and head coach Jimmy Johnson. The two coaches who made the list are Don Coryell and Tony Dungy.

The list was pared down from a group of 25 semifinalists that was reduced from an original list of 108 modern-era nominees. The semifinalists were announced in November 2015.

The full list of people who made it: kicker Morten Andersen, safety Steve Atwater, running backs Terrell Davis and Edgerrin James, wide receivers Marvin Harrison and Terrell Owens, offensive tackles Joe Jacoby and Orlando Pace, quarterbacks Kurt Warner and Brett Favre, guard Allen Faneca, linebacker/defensive end Kevin Greene, safety John Lynch and coaches Tony Dungy and Don Coryell.

The two senior finalists were announced in August, and include Ken Stabler and Dick Stanfel. A contributor finalist, announced in September, is former San Francisco 49ers owner Eddie DeBartolo, Jr.

The Pro Football Hall of Fame Selection Committee will meet on Feb. 6, 2016 to elect the full class of 2016. To be elected, a finalist must receive a minimum positive vote of 80 percent during the selection meeting. The finalists will be announced during the NFL Honors show on the eve of the Super Bowl.