clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

NFL Honors 2016 live stream: Time, TV schedule, awards and how to watch online

Will we see Cam Newton dabbing on Saturday night?

SB Nation's Super Bowl 50 Coverage

The league will hold its annual NFL Honors show on Saturday night, recognizing the NFL's best players, plays and performances from the 2015 season. The event is hosted by Conan O'Brien and televised live on CBS at 9 p.m. ET.

Super Bowl 2016 info: Live stream online | TV schedule and coverage | Kickoff time | Halftime show live stream, performers

Among the most notable awards to be handed out at the two-hour ceremony include the Most Valuable Player, Offensive Player of the Year, Defensive Player of the Year, Offensive Rookie of the Year and Defensive Rookie of the Year.

Quarterback Cam Newton is the frontrunner for the league MVP after leading the Carolina Panthers to a sparkling 15-1 record and the franchise's second Super Bowl berth. Newton was at the helm of the league's top-scoring offense, combining for more than 4,000 total yards (3,837 passing, 636 rushing) and 45 touchdowns (35 passing, 10 rushing).

While Newton probably has the MVP vote locked up, there are several other top contenders for the Offensive Player of the Year. These include quarterbacks Carson Palmer, Tom Brady and Russell Wilson, plus wide receiver Antonio Brown and running back Adrian Peterson. Each of those guys had outstanding -- and in some cases, record-breaking -- seasons and present a strong group of challengers for the award.

For Defensive Player of the Year, there are a few guys looking to unseat J.J. Watt as the league's most feared defender. Watt, who the league in sacks (17.5) and tackles for loss (29), is a favorite to win his second straight DPOY award. Others in the running are Aaron Donald (tied for lead in sacks among defensive tackles), Josh Norman (held opposing receivers to league-low 54.0 passer rating in coverage) and Khalil Mack (first-team All-Pro at both linebacker and defensive end).

There were several standout first-year players who shined on the gridiron this season and are poised to take home rookie honors.

Bucs quarterback Jameis Winston became the third rookie in NFL history to pass for over 4,000 yards, while Rams running back Todd Gurley led all rookies in rushing yards (1,106) and rushing touchdowns (10). Seahawks returner/receiver Tyler Lockett was the only player in the league to rank in the top five in kick and punt return yardage. Chiefs cornerback Marcus Peters (tied for league lead in interceptions) is the favorite on the defensive side of the ball, with fellow corner Ronald Darby (Bills) and defensive tackle Leonard Williams (Jets) as top contenders.

Other notable honors that will be handed out Saturday night include Coach of the Year, Comeback Player of the Year, Walter Payton NFL Man of the Year Award and the Bridgestone Performance Play of the Year.

How to Watch

Time: 9 p.m. ET


Location: Bill Graham Civic Auditorium, San Francisco

Host: Conan O'Brien

Online StreamNFL Mobile

* * *

Super Bowl 50: Panthers players impersonate Cam Newton

Be sure to subscribe to SB Nation's YouTube channel for highlight videos, features, analysis and more