clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Pro Football Hall of Fame 2016 class: Brett Favre, Marvin Harrison lead class

Favre coasted into Canton in his first year of eligibility.

Mike DiNovo-USA TODAY Sports

SB Nation's Super Bowl 50 Coverage

The Pro Football Hall of Fame class of 2016 is going to be one of the most star-studded in NFL history. Brett Favre and Marvin Harrison lead it on the players' side, while venerated coach Tony Dungy and notorious former San Francisco 49ers owner Eddie DeBartolo Jr. will also be inducted in Canton in August.

Favre retired — for the second time — after the 2011 NFL season as the NFL's record-holder in a variety of passing categories and as the league's all-time leader in wins. He holds virtually every passing record in Packers history, and he became the first starting quarterback to win a playoff game after the age of 40 in his final run with the Vikings. His election was as much of a given as one can be, and he will be enshrined in his first year of Hall of Fame eligibility.

Harrison retired after the 2008 season as a model of consistent greatness at the wide receiver position. He started 15 or more games in 11 of his 13 NFL seasons and is second all-time to Sterling Sharpe in catches per season — a record he would likely have broken by a wide margin upon his retirement had injuries not limited him to five games in 2007. Harrison also holds the NFL's record for catches in a single season, having hauled in 142 in 2002 and was previously a Hall of Fame finalist in 2014 and 2015.

Dungy, who oversaw the reign of Peyton Manning, Edgerrin James and Harrison as "the triplets" in Indianapolis, led the Indianapolis Colts to their first Super Bowl title since the franchise was in Baltimore in 2005, then helped them return to the Super Bowl in 2008. Dungy also built the Tampa Bay Buccaneers into a contender near the turn of the 21st century, before being unceremoniously jettisoned to make room for Jon Gruden. Dungy will be the first African-American coach enshrined in the Hall of Fame.

Offensive lineman Orlando Pace gets inducted in his second year of eligibility. The longtime Rams left tackle is considered one of his generation's best offensive linemen, alongside Walter Jones and Jonathan Odgen. Pace spent 14 of his 15 seasons with the Rams after being made the No. 1 overall pick in the 1997 NFL Draft.

The final modern-day inductee \ Kevin Greene finally makes it to Canton in his fifth year on the final ballot. He was a force of nature on defense during the 1980s and 90s, making the Pro Bowl five times and being named to the All-1990s Team.

DeBartolo Jr. owned the 49ers for 23 years, and the franchise won five Super Bowls in a 14-year span under his ownership, as Bill Walsh built a dynasty with Hall of Famers Joe Montana and Steve Young under center.

The late Dick Stanfel and Ken Stabler were the only Senior Finalists on the ballot, and both men were posthumously voted in this year.

2016's biggest snub seems to be Terrell Owens, who inspired nearly 45 minutes of discussion among Hall of Fame selectors on Saturday. Owens addressed his near-miss in a tweet.

Hall of Fame Class of 2016

  • Brett Favre, quarterback
  • Marvin Harrison, wide receiver
  • Kevin Greene, defensive end/linebacker
  • Orlando Pace, tackle
  • Tony Dungy, coach
  • Ken Stabler, quarterback
  • Dick Stanfel, guard
  • Eddie DeBartolo Jr., owner