clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

NFL playoffs 2017: Bracket, schedule, scores, and more

The Falcons will play the Patriots in Super Bowl 51

The postseason road to the Super Bowl started with 12 teams battling to lift the Lombardi Trophy, but now the matchup in Houston in set. The Atlanta Falcons, the designated home team, will battle the New England Patriots in Super Bowl LI.

The Falcons’ red-hot offense led by Matt Ryan proved too much for the Green Bay Packers, building a 31-0 lead en route to a 44-21 win in the NFC Championship Game, advancing to their second Super Bowl in Atlanta’s franchise history and their first in 18 seasons.

The Falcons in Super Bowl 51 will battle the New England Patriots, who beat the Pittsburgh Steelers 36-17 in the AFC Championship Game in Foxborough. New England is the first team in NFL history to make it to nine Super Bowls.

The Packers were in the NFC title game thanks to outlasting the top-seeded Dallas Cowboys in a high-scoring thriller for their eighth straight win. Earlier in the Divisional round, the Falcons, the NFC No. 2 seed, took apart the Seattle Seahawks, advancing to the NFC Championship Game for the first time in four seasons.

Getting the the conference title game is old hat for the Patriots, who are in the AFC title game for an NFL-record sixth consecutive season after beating the Houston Texans on Saturday night in Foxborough. The Steelers didn’t score a touchdown in their Divisional Round win but got six field goals from Chris Boswell to beat the No. 2 seed Kansas City Chiefs on the road at Arrowhead Stadium.

In the AFC Wild Card round, the Texans got things started with a home win over the depleted Oakland Raiders, followed by the Steelers dispatching the Miami Dolphins at home.

In the NFC, the Seahawks beat the Detroit Lions at home, while the Packers fell behind early but then rallied behind Aaron Rodgers and Randall Cobb to oust the New York Giants at Lambeau Field.

Super Bowl 51 kicks off at 6:30 p.m. ET on Sunday, Feb. 5 at NRG Stadium in Houston.

Here’s the complete playoff schedule and results, with all times are Eastern.

Wild Card Round

Saturday, Jan. 7

GAME 1: Houston Texans 27, Oakland Raiders 14
GAME 2: Seattle Seahawks 26, Detroit Lions 6

Sunday, Jan. 8

GAME 3: Pittsburgh Steelers 30, Miami Dolphins 12
GAME 4: Green Bay Packers 38, New York Giants 13

Divisional Round

Saturday, Jan. 14

GAME 5: Atlanta Falcons 36, Seattle Seahawks 20
GAME 6: New England Patriots 34, Houston Texans 16

Sunday, Jan. 15

GAME 7: Green Bay Packers 34, Dallas Cowboys 31
GAME 8: Pittsburgh Steelers 18, Kansas City Chiefs 16

Championship Round

Sunday, Jan. 22

NFC Championship: Atlanta Falcons 44, Green Bay Packers 21
AFC Championship: New England Patriots 36, Pittsburgh Steelers 17

Super Bowl 51

Sunday, Feb. 5

New England Patriots vs. Atlanta Falcons, 6:30 p.m., FOX