clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Kris Letang, Jordan Eberle, Nick Johnson Named 2012 NHL All-Star Game Replacements

Pittsburgh Penguins defenseman Kris Letang and Edmonton Oilers forward Jordan Eberle were added to the 2012 NHL All-Star roster on Monday (via Minnesota Wild forward Nick Johnson was also added to the group of rookies who will be competing in the All-Star Skills Competition.

Eberle, who leads the Oilers in goals (17) and assists (27), will replace injured Wild forward Mikko Koivu. Eberle picked up a good chunk of those points during a stretch in which he scored a goal or registered an assist in 12 of 13 games from Nov. 28-Dec. 29. This will be the former first-round pick's first All-Star appearance.

Letang, who has scored five goals and registered 18 assists, will replace injured Winnipeg Jets defenseman Dustin Byfuglien. This will be the fourth time Letang has been invited to participate in All-Star Game festivities and the second straight year he'll be on the All-Star Game roster.

Johnson replaces injured Oilers forward Ryan Nugent-Hopkins. Johnson has six goals and 10 assists in 44 games so far this year.