clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Vezina Trophy Finalists 2012: Pekka Rinne, Henrik Lundqvist, Jonathan Quick Named Top Goalies

Jonathan Quick, Pekka Rinne and Henrik Lundqvist are the three finalists for the Vezina Trophy, which goes to the NHL's top goalie.

Getty Images

Pekka Rinne of the Nashville Predators, Henrik Lundqvist of the New York Rangers and Jonathan Quick of the Los Angeles Kings have been named the three finalists for the 2012 Vezina Trophy, which is awarded each year to the NHL's top goaltender.

The league's 30 general managers submitted ballots for the award, and the top three vote-getters were named finalists. The winner will be announced at the NHL Awards in Las Vegas on June 20.

Rinne compiled a .923 save percentage this season and was worked to the bone. His 2,153 shots faced led the NHL, as did his 1,987 saves in 72 starts. He appeared in 73 games over the course of the year in total, tied for the league lead. He has never won a Vezina, but he was the runner-up to Tim Thomas in 2011.

Lundqvist, a four-time Vezina finalist, ranked near the top of the league in just about every category: wins, shutouts, goals-against average and save percentage. His .930 save percentage was tops among everyday NHL starting goaltenders, tied with Phoenix's Mike Smith.

Quick has never won a Vezina, but his 2011-12 season was phenomenal, his third-consecutive season with 30 or more wins. He compiled 10 shutouts in his 69 decisions, allowed one goal in 17 games and allowed just two goals 19 times.