clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Hart Trophy Finalists 2012: Henrik Lundqvist, Evgeni Malkin, Steven Stamkos

Steven Stamkos, Henrik Lundqvist and Evgeni Malkin are the three finalists for the Hart Trophy.

Getty Images

Henrik Lundqvist of the New York Rangers, Evgeni Malkin of the Pittsburgh Penguins and Steven Stamkos of the Tampa Bay Lightning are the three finalists for the Hart Memorial Trophy, awarded each NHL season to the player "adjudged most valuable to his team."

Members of the Professional Hockey Writers' Association submitted ballots at the conclusion of the regular season. The top three vote-getters were named finalists, and the winner will be announced at the NHL Awards in Las Vegas on June 20.

Malkin won the Art Ross Trophy this season as the NHL's top point producer. His 109 points led the Pittsburgh Penguins to the No. 4 seed in the Eastern Conference playoffs. He's been a finalist for the Hart twice in his career, finishing in second place in both 2008 and 2009.

Lundqvist, also a finalist for the Vezina Trophy as top goaltender, led the league in save percentage among everyday starting goaltenders. He's never been a Hart finalist before, and he's the first goalie to finish in the top-3 in Hart voting since 2007.

Stamkos, the second-year star from Tampa Bay, scored 60 goals this season. 60 of them. That's why he's a Hart finalist.