clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

NHL Awards 2012: SB Nation Bloggers Select Calder Trophy Winner

SB Nation's collection of hockey bloggers have teamed up to vote for the 2012 NHL Awards. Today, we reveal our selection for the Calder Trophy, awarded annually to the NHL's top rookie. Monday: Vezina Trophy. Tuesday: Norris Trophy. Wednesday: Lady Byng Trophy.

Getty Images

The Calder Memorial Trophy is awarded annually to the NHL's top rookie. Here at SB Nation, bloggers from our 33 hockey blogs have cast their own ballots for the award.

Ballots featured three fill-in-the-blank spaces for the Calder Trophy, and voters were asked to select a third-place finisher, a second-place finisher and a winner for the award. Players receiving third-place votes were awarded one point, second-place votes were awarded two points and first-place votes were awarded three points. 40 ballots were submitted in total.

And the winner is ....

Gabriel Landeskog, Colorado Avalanche


  • Second-place: Adam Henrique of the New Jersey Devils.
  • Third-place: Ryan Nugent-Hopkins of the Edmonton Oilers.
  • Others receiving votes: Matt Read, Sean Couturier, Carl Hagelin, Justin Faulk, Adam Larsson, Jake Gardiner, Craig Smith, Slava Voynov.

Here's the full points breakdown -- not votes, but points, based on the criteria detailed above. Three points for a first-place vote, two points for a second-place vote and one point for a third-place vote:

Gabriel Landeskog 2 Gabriel Landeskog 12 Gabriel Landeskog 87 101
Adam Henrique 7 Adam Henrique 28 Adam Henrique 24 59
Ryan Nugent-Hopkins 14 Ryan Nugent-Hopkins 22 Ryan Nugent-Hopkins 6 42
Matt Read 6 Matt Read 6

Sean Couturier 3 Sean Couturier 4 Sean Couturier 3 10
Carl Hagelin 3 Carl Hagelin 2

Justin Faulk 2 Justin Faulk 2


Adam Larsson 2


Jake Gardiner 2

abstain 1

Craig Smith 1

Slava Voynov 1

Be sure to check in with your favorite SB Nation hockey blogs to see how writers covering each team cast their ballots. Check back on Friday as we announce our winner of the Masterton Trophy, awarded annually to the player who best exemplifies the qualities of perseverance, sportsmanship, and dedication to the game.