clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Jack Adams Award 2013: Bruce Boudreau, Joel Quenneville, Paul MacLean named finalists

The NHL announced the three finalists for the Jack Adams Award, which is given to best coach.

Grant Halverson

The NHL announced the three finalists for the Jack Adams Award, which is presented to the coach judged to have contributed the most to his team's success. The honor is voted upon by the NHL Broadcasters Association.

Bruce Boudreau of the Anaheim Ducks, Joel Quenneville of the Chicago Blackhawks and Paul MacLean of the Ottawa Senators were nominated as the three finalists for the award.

Boudreau completed his first full season (in a relative sense, of course) as the head coach of the Ducks. Having taken over as the team's bench boss in December of last season, Boudreau led the Ducks to an impressive turnaround in the abbreviated 2013 season. The team captured a Pacific Division title and the Western Conference's No. 2 seed after finishing in 13th place the season prior.

MacLean was able to navigate the Senators through an injury plagued 2013 which saw the absence of Craig Anderson, Erik Karlsson, Jared Cowen, Jason Spezza and Milan Michalek, all of which are key contributors to the team. Despite these issues, the team managed to clinch a playoff berth in the Eastern Conference.

Quenneville coached the best team in the NHL in 2013. Beginning with a record-breaking point-streak to start the season, the Blackhawks compiled the most points of any other team on way to their second-ever Presidents' Trophy.

More in the NHL:

Complete Stanley Cup Playoffs coverage

Are the Sens now ‘Canada’s Team?’

Our playoff predictions

The best of our hockey network