clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Ted Lindsay Award: Alex Ovechkin, Martin St. Louis, Sidney Crosby named finalists

The NHL announced the three finalists for the Ted Lindsay Award on Thursday morning.

Bruce Bennett

On Thursday morning, the NHL announced the three finalists for the Ted Lindsay Award, which is annually given to the league's most outstanding player as voted on by the membership of the NHL Players' Association.

Alex Ovechkin of the Washington Capitals, Martin St. Louis of the Tampa Bay Lightning and Sidney Crosby of the Pittsburgh Penguins received the three highest vote totals from their peers.

Crosby held ownership of the league's scoring race for a majority of the 2013 season before a fractured jaw prematurely ended his regular season campaign at the end of March. Despite not participating in a game in all of April, Crosby finished four points off the league lead in total points. In 36 games played, the Penguins captain recorded 15 goals and 41 assists for a total of 56 points. His assist total was second best in the league.

Ovechkin finished the year tied with Crosby for overall points. While the majority of Crosby's total was boosted by his assists, Ovechkin's point total was aided by a league-leading 32 goals. In addition, the Capitals captain registered 24 assists.

St. Louis finished the year as the league's leading scorer, which earned him the Art Ross Trophy. The 37-year-old is the oldest player to ever win the award. Collecting 60 points in 48 games, St. Louis also led the league in assists with 43.

All three players have previously won the Ted Lindsay Award. Ovechkin has been given the honor three times, while Crosby and St. Louis have won it once.

More in the NHL:

Complete Stanley Cup Playoffs coverage

Bet on these hot playoff teams

Our playoff predictions

The best of our hockey network