clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

NHL Awards 2013: Jonathan Toews, Paul MacLean, Josh Harding among initial winners

The Jack Adams Award, Selke Trophy and Masterton Award winners were among eight NHL awards announced Friday evening.

Christian Petersen

The NHL announced the winners of eight league awards on Friday afternoon. And the winners are...

Jonathan Toews of the Chicago Blackhawks won the Frank J. Selke Trophy as the league's top defensive forward. Toews beat out fellow finalists Pavel Datsyuk of the Detroit Red Wings and Patrice Bergeron of the Boston Bruins. Toews received 1,260 total points -- 75 first place votes, 51 second, 20 third, 14 fourth and five fifth place votes. Bergeron finished second with 1,250 total points and Datsyuk finished third with 737 points. Anze Kopitar and David Backes finished fourth and fifth, respectively.

Senators head coach Paul MacLean, who as far as we know isn't actually a walrus, won the Jack Adams Award as the league's top bench boss. MacLean earned 206 total points in the final voting -- 28 for first place, 19 for second and nine for third. He beat out Joel Quenneville of the Blackhawks for second place and Bruce Boudreau of the Anaheim Ducks finished third in the voting.

Ray Shero of the Pittsburgh Penguins won the General Manager of the Year Award. He picked up 14 first place votes, six second place votes and six third place votes for 94 total points. Bob Murray of the Anaheim Ducks and Marc Bergevin of the Montreal Canadiens rounded out the top three.

Martin St. Louis of the Tampa Bay Lightning won the Lady Byng Memorial Trophy, awarded annually to "the player adjuged to have exhibited the best type of sportsmanship and gentlemanly conduct combined with a high standard of play." St. Louis picked up 47 first-place votes. Patrick Kane of the Blackhawks and Datsyuk rounded out the top three. In total, 75 players picked up some kind of vote, because the Lady Byng is a silly award that nobody knows how to judge.

Goaltender Josh Harding of the Minnesota Wild won the Bill Masterson Memorial Trophy for perseverance, sportsmanship and dedication to hockey. Harding was diagnosed with multiple sclerosis last fall and still played five regular season games in 2013 with the Wild. He also played five playoff games and compiled a .918 save percentage in two games with the AHL's Houston Aeros during a conditioning stint.

The NHL Foundation Player Award went to Henrik Zetterberg of the Red Wings, and the NHL Foundation -- the league's charitable arm -- wil donate $25,000 to the Zetterberg Foundation, the player's charitable organization. The money will help fund the creation of three water stations in Ethiopia.

Patrice Bergeron may have lost out on the Selke, but he took home some hardware by winning the King Clancy Memorial Trophy. The award goes to "to the player who best exemplifies leadership on and off the ice and who has made a noteworthy humanitarian contribution to his community."

The Mark Messier NHL Leadership Award was given to Daniel Alfredsson of the Ottawa Senators. He defeated Dustin Brown of the Los Angeles Kings and Toews of the Blackhawks to win the award.