clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Jonathan Toews' goal in Game 1 disallowed due to goaltender interference

New, comment

And Joel Quenneville is not happy about it.

SB Nation 2014 NHL Playoff Bracket

Chicago Blackhawks captain Jonathan Toews is seemingly on a mission to win the Conn Smythe Trophy this season, and he made yet another impact in Game 1 of the Western Conference Final.

Well, sort of. About midway through the second period, Toews took a pass from a teammate and barreled through the Los Angeles Kings toward the net. It was an outstanding individual effort that appeared to end with a pretty goal bouncing off Kings' defenseman Slava Voynov.

Toewsgoal3

Not so fast. The officials reviewed the play and ruled that the goal would not count because Toews interfered with the goaltender. If you squint, you can see their argument. The puck didn't make its final approach into the net until after Toews collided with Jonathan Quick, which would definitely qualify as goalie interference. But then there's that whole forward momentum thing to consider.

At any rate, you could imagine how 'Hawks coach Joel Quenneville felt about all this.

Umad_medium

Hey, at least he didn't grab his crotch again! He's learning.