clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Hockey Hall of Fame 2014 inductees: Pat Burns finally gets in, as do 4 players

Four players, one builder and one official will be inducted into the Hockey Hall of Fame in 2014.

There are six members of the Hockey Hall of Fame's Class of 2014: four players, one builder and one official.

Pat Burns finally gets in. The Stanley Cup winning coach of the New Jersey Devils (as well as three other teams across his 14 years in the NHL) waited far too long and unfortunately is no longer with us to accept the honor, but his induction will feel like justice in a way. He's been eligible since 2007 and should have been in years ago.

Legendary Buffalo Sabres goaltender Dominik Hasek is in the Hall in his first year of eligibility, as are longtime Colorado Avalanche center Peter Forsberg and Mike Modano, the best American-born player in NHL history. Defenseman Rob Blake, who played most of his 20-year career in Los Angeles with the Kings, is also a member of the 2014 Hall of Fame class, inducted in just his second year of eligibility.

Referee Bill McCreary is also a member of the Hall of Fame. He retired from officiating in the NHL in April 2011 after 27 seasons and nearly 2,000 games.

The 2014 Induction Ceremony will be held in Toronto on November 17.