Goaltenders slide their skates across the goal crease all the time to make saves. It's a goaltending staple, something many netminders employ when needing to make a quick stop with the blade of their skate. Anaheim Ducks goaltender Frederik Andersen may or may not have used the posts to his advantage Monday evening, saving a goal by knocking the net off its moorings.
In a scoreless third period in a game against the Chicago Blackhawks with time running down, Artemi Panarin fired off a quick shot on goal, but Andersen's lateral movement caused the net to dislodge clearly after the puck entered the net.
the goal (or non-goal, as was called on the ice) currently under review pic.twitter.com/PM6u6NeoNs— Stephanie (@myregularface) October 27, 2015
It's the right call by the NHL rules, which you can see below, but did Andersen knowingly knock the net off to save a goal in a game that clearly needs one?