clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Vezina Trophy 2016: Ben Bishop, Braden Holtby and Jonathan Quick named finalists

One of the three veterans will be honored as the league's best goalie.

Patrick Smith/Getty Images

The 2016 nominees for the NHL's goaltender of the year award have been announced, and you probably already guessed who they are.

The general managers of the NHL nominated Ben Bishop of the Tampa Bay Lightning, Braden Holtby of the Washington Capitals and Jonathan Quick of the Los Angeles Kings as the three Vezina Trophy finalists this season. The winner will be announced on June 22 at the NHL Awards in Las Vegas.

Braden Holtby must be considered the frontrunner for the honor after a historic season with the Capitals. He tied the NHL record with 48 regular season wins, becoming the seventh goalie in NHL history with consecutive 40-win campaigns. He finished eighth in save percentage (.922), fifth in goals-against average (2.20) and sixth in saves.

This is Bishop's second career Vezina Trophy nomination. Bishop finished with 35 wins and the league's best goals-against average (2.06) and the second-best save percentage (.926).

No goalie worked harder than Quick this season. Quick was among the top two in the league in starts and minutes and still racked up 40 wins and 1,671 saves. He also registered his 41st career shutout this season, more than any American goalie in NHL history.