clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2016 Daytona 500 betting preview: Top NASCAR drivers seek odds payout

The top drivers in NASCAR including Joey Logano, Kevin Harvick, and Jimmie Johnson look to open 2016 with a payout at the Daytona 500.

Mark J. Rebilas-USA TODAY Sports

Joey Logano won the Daytona 500 in 2015, becoming the sixth different driver in six years to win the historic race. With a win Sunday in Daytona Beach, Logano would become the first back-to-back winner in the Daytona 500 since Sterling Marlin won it in 1994 and 1995.

Logano is currently going off at +700 on the odds to win the Sprint Cup championship at sportsbooks monitored by After a strong campaign in 2014, Logano had another good season in the Sprint Cup last year, winning six races including five wins in the last 15 races of the season. He will try to carry that momentum into a strong start in 2016.

The current favorite to win the Sprint Cup in 2016 is Kevin Harvick at +500. Harvick was a factor in almost every race last season, racking up 23 Top 5 finishes in 36 races, including 13 runner-up spots and three wins. One of those runner-up finishes came in last year's Daytona 500, which was Harvick's first Top 5 finish in this race since 2009. He did win the Daytona 500 back in 2007.

Kyle Busch (+800 on the NASCAR betting lines to win the Sprint Cup) suffered a leg injury in an accident at the Xfinity Series race on this track that forced him to miss the first 11 races in the Sprint Cup Series in 2015. A stretch of four wins in five races midseason punched Busch's ticket into the Chase, where he eventually went on to beat Kevin Harvick, Jeff Gordon and Martin Truex Jr. in the championship.

Busch has always struggled in the Daytona 500 with just two Top 10 finishes in 10 appearances in this race.

Three contenders that have won the Daytona 500 twice before will be in this year's field: Matt Kenseth (+700 to win the Cup), Jimmie Johnson (+700) and Dale Earnhardt Jr. (+1000). Earnhardt has historically excelled in this race, finishing in the Top 3 five times in the last six years including his second Daytona 500 win in 2014.

Another two-time Daytona 500 winner that will race Sunday is Michael Waltrip, though he enters the race with a 218-race losing streak.