clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

USA Vs. Chile: 18-Man Roster For Saturday Friendly

The U.S. Men's National Team blog has revealed the 18-man dressed roster for tonight's match against Chile. The friendly is the culmination of the training camp that has taken place in Carson over the last two-and-a-half weeks, with only five of the camp's 23 trainees failing to make tonight's team.

By position:

Goalkeeper: Sean Johnson and Nick Rimando are in, with Bob Bradley's past tendencies hinting the Real Salt Lake veteran will get the start. Johnson will likely get his first senior national team cap just over one year after being selected in the fourth round of the 2010 Major League Soccer SuperDraft. Missing out on tonight's selection: Dominic Cervi and Matt Pickens.

Defender: Three Los Angeles Galaxy players will dress tonight: Omar Gonzalez, a likely starter in central defense, A.J. DeLaGarza, and Sean Franklin. They'll be joined by two Colorado Rapids - Marvell Wynne and Anthony Wallace - as wall as Zack Loyd and Gonzalez's likely partner, Red Bull Tim Ream. Halmstad's Ryan Miller was not selected.

Midfield: MLS Cup Final star Jeff Larentowicz will likely get his first cap for the national team. The 27-year-old Rapids stalwart will be joined by fellow, potential debutant, Eric Alexander. Alejandro Bedoya and Dax McCarty are the only midfielders selected who have more than one cap, while Brek Shea and Mikkel Diskerud ("Mixx") will look to build on their late 2010 debuts. San Jose Earthquake midfielder Sam Cronin will sit the match out.

Forwards: Tom Tomsk attacker Yavgeni Starikov was the only forward not chosen to dress. MLS golden boot winner Chris Wondolowski could see his first cap, with Juan Agudelo and Teal Bunbury hoping to reforge their tandem that was so successful in the South Africa friendly.

Tonight's match kicks-off at 10 p.m. Eastern from Home Depot Center in Carson, California. It will be televised on Telefutura, with a feed also available via

Full team:

Goalkeeper: Sean Johnson, Nick Rimando

Defenders: A.J. DeLaGarza, Omar Gonzalez, Zach loyd, Sean Franklin, Tim Ream, Anthony Wallace, Marvell Wynne

Midfielders: Eric Alexander, Alejandro Bedoya, Mikkel Diskerud, Jeff Larentowicz, Dax McCarty, Brek Shea

Forwards: Juan Agudelo, Teal Bunbury, Chris Wondolowski