clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Jurgen Klinsmann Announces Final 23-Man USMNT Roster For 5-Match Stretch

There were no big surprises as Jurgen Klinsmann announced the final 23-man roster for the United States' upcoming five-game stretch that will include three friendlies and the first two 2014 World Cup qualifying games. MLS players Juan Agudelo and Graham Zusi and Germany-based Danny Williams and Alfredo Morales failed to make the final roster.

"We have said from the beginning that these games are all about results, and we have chosen the 23 players who are in the best form right now and ready to get the job done," Klinsmann said in a statement. "These guys have put in a tremendous amount of hard work in the last 10 days, and they are hungry to get started with the matches. We want to thank the players who have gone back to their clubs for all of their effort here. They are knocking on the door and will be ready to go if needed."

The final roster includes five players from MLS, four players from the German Bundesliga, four from the Mexican Primera and three from the English Premier League.

This will be the team from which Klinsmann will select his 18-man gameday rosters for friendlies against Scotland (May 26), Brazil (May 30) and Canada (June 3), as well as World Cup qualifiers against Antigua and Barbuda (June 8) and Guatemala (June 12).

GOALKEEPERS (3): Brad Guzan (Aston Villa), Tim Howard (Everton), Nick Rimando (Real Salt Lake)

DEFENDERS (7): Carlos Bocanegra (Rangers), Geoff Cameron (Houston Dynamo), Edgar Castillo (Club Tijuana), Steve Cherundolo (Hannover 96), Clarence Goodson (Brondby), Oguchi Onyewu (Sporting Lisbon), Michael Parkhurst (Nordsjaelland)

MIDFIELDERS (7): Kyle Beckerman (Real Salt Lake), Michael Bradley (Chievo Verona), Joe Corona (Club Tijuana), Maurice Edu (Rangers), Fabian Johnson (Hoffenheim), Jermaine Jones (Schalke 04), Jose Torres (Pachuca)

FORWARDS (6): Jozy Altidore (AZ Alkmaar), Terrence Boyd (Borussia Dortmund), Clint Dempsey (Fulham), Landon Donovan (LA Galaxy), Herculez Gomez (Santos), Chris Wondolowski (San Jose Earthquakes)