clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Nadine Angerer wins FIFA women's world player of the year

The German goalkeeper became the first player at her position to win the award.

Simon Hofmann

Since the FIFA Women's World Player of the Year award was created in 2001, only attacking players have won the award. Marta has been the most frequent winner of the award, with Mia Hamm, Birgit Prinz, Abby Wambach and Homare Sawa capturing the award as well. No defensive midfielder, defender or goalkeeper has ever won the award until this year, when German goalkeeper Nadine Angerer beat Wambach and Marta to the honor for 2013.

While Angerer's club team didn't have their best season -- FFC Frankfurt finished 3rd in the Bundesliga and did not participate in the Champions League -- she had one of the best years of her career for Germany. The German national team captured the 2013 European Championship, with Angerer making two saves during the penalty shootout to steal the victory for her team.

Angerer has since moved to Brisbane Roar in Australia and has been linked to a move to the United States for the upcoming NWSL season.