clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

USMNT lead Colombia 1-0 on penalty

The United States lead Colombia, and in rather controversial fashion. A penalty was given for a pretty clear handball by Los Cafeteros' left back Pablo Armero, but he wasn't too happy about the call. Him and all of his teammates thought that he was fouled by Rubio Rubin before he handled, and he might have had a point.

After consulting with his assistant, the referee stuck with his initial call, and Jozy Altidore converted from the spot. The pro-Colombia crowd at Craven Cottage isn't happy.